Skip to main content

Information about David - Toongabbie tutor -

Profile Picture

David's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated David:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

English

Price Guide
College $60.00
Casual $60.00

History

Price Guide
College $60.00
Casual $60.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Diploma of Teaching (Sec) majoring in English and History, which are still my 2 great passions. I have spent my whole life in pursuits which involved me helping people to grow and develop to be the very best person that they can be, not just to be good at English. I have served in community service clubs committed to making local communities better places, assisting people in those communities who could not always manage themselves, developing a service culture among people in the community, and providing opportunities for young people to grow. I have trained young people, business people and students in public speaking, debating and meeting procedure. I am a relaxed and optimistic person, friendly and outgoing, and I relate well to people of all ages.

Tuition Experience:

My first career was as a classroom teacher in secondary schools, where I lasted 21 years, 4 as a teacher, and 17 as a Senior Teacher, responsible for leading the English teaching team. I have also worked as a Management Development Consultant, running training courses for middle and upper-level managers in the Public Service. I have run two businesses, both of which involved developing people, and expanding their vision of who and what they could be, and giving them the confidence and motivation to succeed in setting and achieving their goals. In between these two businesses, I was a Life Coach, working individually with people of all walks of life to succeed in their careers and personal life. A very diverse experience of "teaching".

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is simple. I begin by assessing the needs of the learner, clarifying where they need to be, and working with them to set goals, and strategies to achieve them. I identify their strengths, and work to build on them; identify the areas where growth is needed, and provide tuition to address the needs. I prefer to use a coaching style rather than lecturing or driving. I focus on building confidence, motivation, commitment to succeed, and self-esteem.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Adelaide University (1969) - Bachelor of Arts (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Adelaide Teachers College (1968) - Diploma of Teaching (Other) (✔ On File)

Tags: Toongabbie English tutor, Toongabbie History tutor, Toongabbie College English tutor, Toongabbie Casual English tutor, Toongabbie College History tutor, Toongabbie Casual History tutor