Skip to main content

Information About Yvonne - Galway tutor

Profile Picture

Yvonne's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Yvonne:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €20.00
Senior Cycle €20.00
University €25.00
Adult / Casual €20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a writer, journalist, and a qualified and experienced English language teacher based in Galway. I have an MA in Journalism and Public Relations from Griffith College Dublin, and a BA in English & Political Science and Sociology from NUI Galway. I have been working as a freelance journalist for 2 and a half years, with experience running my own blogs, writing in depth articles about topical and sensitive issues, editing articles, and producing publishable work. I am currently an SEO writer for a tech company. I have 5 years experience writing academic essays, for English, sociology, political science, and media studies. I have written a 20,000 word dissertation for my MA course, parts of which I am currently adapting for publication in academic journals.

Tutoring Experience:

In 2015 I qualified as an English Language teacher from the Bridge Mills Language School, and I began full time work as a teacher at Atlantic Language Galway, where I taught for 8 months. I have been keen for a long time to teach English grinds for second level and third level students, and with my own experience, love of English literature and writing, and excellent grasp of grammar and form, I hope to deliver the highest quality lessons.

Approach to Grinds:

I would see the first lesson as a needs analysis, where the student would tell me what it is they are looking for, and I would assess their level and ability in an informal way, in order to best plan the coming weeks of lessons. If for any reason the student does not feel that we gel well together in this first lesson and would not like to continue with me, then this lesson will be free of charge. What I hope to do is help my students improve their literary competency, their creative style, and their critical mind. I understand the difference between an A and a B grade, a C and a D grade, a 2:1 and a 1:1, and a pass and a fail. At the same time, it is also very important that the lesson is engaging, fun, and allows for my student to have some autonomy over their own learning. I would expect some dedication to the lesson, with any assignments or reading being done before the lesson.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Griffith College Dublin (2017) - Journalism and Public Relations (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • NUI Galway (2015) - English, Political Science & Sociology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • ACELS (2015) - Certificate in English Language Teaching (Other) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Galway English tutor, Galway Junior Cycle English tutor, Galway Senior Cycle English tutor, Galway University English tutor, Galway Adult / Casual English tutor