Skip to main content

Information About Siobhan - Galway tutor

Profile Picture

Siobhan's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Siobhan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Siobhan offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Price Guide
Primary €25.00
Junior Cycle €30.00
Senior Cycle €30.00
University €35.00

Biology

Price Guide
Senior Cycle €30.00

Science

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a 3rd year Mechanical Engineering student in GMIT. Teaching is my passion, and through teaching grinds i have figured out that academia is what I particularly excel in. I have always loved maths and science which has lead me to my choice of college course. I believe STEM subjects are of the upmost importance to future discoveries and inventions and that is why i get such a thrill helping students understand Maths in particular. I have extremely high grades in my modules in college but in particular my maths and science modules, which has furthered my knowledge in these areas allowing me to break down the questions to its simplest forms and teach structures on how to answer them.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching guitar lessons since I was 15 years old and through this I learnt how to teach young children. I then moved on to teaching teenagers and adults through the basic fundamentals of teaching that I had figured out myself. In my first year of college I gave grinds to people in my own course and to students in other science and engineering courses throughout the college at a reduced rate to learn how to teach maths at a college level. this gave me a lot of experience and the push to start working on a more regular basis teaching. Myself and my collegue decided to start teaching from SCCUL in February 2017 on weekends teaching after a high demand for tutors in our grinds school which could not facilitate classrooms for us anymore with the influx of numbers.

Approach to Grinds:

My approach to teaching grinds is to get to know my students and understand how they learn and study so that I can optimise contact time with them. I try to teach them how to break down the questions and learn how to recreate answers by not only using formulae, but breaking down those formulae to show how the can be simplified and transposed to get easy solutions to complicated questions. I believe understanding is key and if we can understand how to do something once correctly it can be built on to use across various different topics throughout the course.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • GMIT (2017) - Mechanical Engineering Level 6 (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • CCS (2015) - Leaving Cert (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • CCS (2012) - Junior Cert (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Galway Maths tutor, Galway Biology tutor, Galway Science tutor, Galway Primary Maths tutor, Galway Junior Cycle Maths tutor, Galway Senior Cycle Maths tutor, Galway University Maths tutor, Galway Senior Cycle Biology tutor, Galway Junior Cycle Science tutor