Skip to main content

Information About Henry - Oldcastle tutor -

Profile Picture

Henry's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Henry:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Price Guide
Primary €20.00
Junior Cycle €30.00
Senior Cycle €30.00

Economics

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €30.00
Senior Cycle €30.00

Accounting

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €30.00
Senior Cycle €30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi, I'm 23 and am in my fourth year of Actuarial and Financial Studies in UCD and would be interested in providing tuition in Maths (A1 in Leaving Cert), Accounting (A2) and Economics (B1). All three subjects have been very prominent in my 3rd level studies so far and my interest in them extends past the classroom, I enjoy reading maths related literature and am treasurer of the UCD Economics society.
I'm a chatty and outgoing person (I was class rep for my course in 2nd year) and enjoy a challenge.

Tutoring Experience:

While in Transition Year in secondary school, I tutored a struggling 2nd year student for junior cert maths. It began well and as the year went on, his maths teacher asked if I would take on 2 more pupils, which I did. All 3 went on to achieve Bs or higher in the Junior Cert.
I also have completed a Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) Course and have had a student pass their English competency exam.
I've volunteered to work with kids and adults of various disabilities, something I found massively fulfilling.

Approach to Grinds:

I like to focus on the general principals and nature of a problem, rather than get zoned in on the specific calculations of a question straight away. Developing an understanding, and hopefully an appreciation, for what is being done will lead to the student developing greater confidence in their abilities and be less likely to get caught out should they encounter something they hadn't specifically seen before.
Where learning theory is prevalent, like in Economics. I think a guided discussion on the topics work best. If the student is able to come up with the required points themselves, they're more likely to remember them in an exam situation.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Clongowes Wood College, Clane, Kildare. (2015) - 560 points in the Leaving Cert (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Oldcastle Maths tutor, Oldcastle Economics tutor, Oldcastle Accounting tutor, Oldcastle Primary Maths tutor, Oldcastle Junior Cycle Maths tutor, Oldcastle Senior Cycle Maths tutor, Oldcastle Junior Cycle Economics tutor, Oldcastle Senior Cycle Economics tutor, Oldcastle Junior Cycle Accounting tutor, Oldcastle Senior Cycle Accounting tutor