Skip to main content

Information About Danny - Dublin tutor

Profile Picture

Danny's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Danny:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

German

Price Guide
Primary €40.00
Junior Cycle €40.00
Senior Cycle €40.00
University €40.00
Adult / Casual €40.00

Gaelic

Price Guide
Primary €40.00
Junior Cycle €40.00
Senior Cycle €40.00
Adult / Casual €40.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a graduate of Law and German in Trinity College Dublin with a passion for languages.

During my degree I did an Erasmus exchange in Freiburg, Germany where I studied and worked part time in the Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg. I studied German throughout my second level education, attaining an A1 grade in my Leaving Certificate.

I attended an Irish speaking secondary school where I became fully fluent in Irish and achieved an A1 in the subject in my Leaving Certificate.

In Trinity College Dublin I received the highest overall grade in my class in first and second year and received the Bloomsbury Professional Law Prize, the Law School Prize and the German-Irish Lawyers and Business Association (GILBA) Prize as a result.

In final year I graduated top of my class with First Class Honours and a Distinction in Spoken German for which I was awarded the Law School and GILBA prizes for a second time.

My individual Leaving Cert grades were as follows:

Irish - A1
English - A1
Maths - A2
German - A1
Physics - A1
Chemistry - A1
Design and Communication Graphics - A1

In total I received 615 points out of a possible 625.

Tutoring Experience:

I was a volunteer tutor with the Volunteer Tuition Programme in Trinity College for the 2014/2015 academic year. Every week I met with a Junior Cert student to give grinds in German and Maths in preparation for the Junior Cert exams.

In May 2014 I travelled to Malawi in rural Africa for 2 months to teach English and Maths to a group of roughly 40 primary school children. I was solely responsible for directing classes, deciding what work to cover and what activities to carry out.

In my second year of university I gave weekly grinds in Maths and Irish.

Approach to Grinds:

My approach to grinds centres around the individual student. It is not possible to have a 'one size fits all' approach to grinds.

I ask the student which areas in particular pose the most difficulty for them and tailor an approach to teaching them which focuses on these areas.

Personally I am very goal-focused and this is something which I believe can bring structure and meaning to a student's learning.

I firmly believe that languages are easiest to learn through practical application, so lessons will combine a mixture of oral work, grammar revision and written exercises with a focus on 'real life' application, and of course, exams.

I offer grinds for German and Irish at Junior and Leaving Certificate level. I am a firm believer in the motto 'practice makes perfect' - the more practice and planning that goes into preparation for the exams, the more likely students are to do well.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Trinity College Dublin (2016) - I Bachelor in Law and German (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Trinity College Dublin (2015) - II.1 Bachelor in Law and German (First Year exam) (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Dublin German tutor, Dublin Gaelic tutor, Dublin Primary German tutor, Dublin Junior Cycle German tutor, Dublin Senior Cycle German tutor, Dublin University German tutor, Dublin Adult / Casual German tutor, Dublin Primary Gaelic tutor, Dublin Junior Cycle Gaelic tutor, Dublin Senior Cycle Gaelic tutor, Dublin Adult / Casual Gaelic tutor