Skip to main content

Information About Damian - Dublin tutor

Profile Picture

Damian's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Damian:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €30.00
Senior Cycle €35.00
Adult / Casual €35.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

My name is Damian and I have been involved in Education for the past 10 years. I have been teaching Senior and Junior Cycle English to exam years for the past 6 years and have an in-depth knowledge of my subject area. I am currently teaching English in an all girls’ school in Dublin to all year groups including Higher level Leaving Cert. I have experience in marking exams which has provided me with a strong base to advise students on exam tips and tricks.
I have two Masters in Education. My first MA is in English as an Additional Language which was my first introduction to teaching and learning. I utilise this experience in my day to day classes with a strong emphasis on correct grammar usage. I feel I am quite relaxed and approachable for my students as I fully understand that grinds can be a daunting process for them. I am very passionate about English and hope that my enthusiasm rubs off on my students as English is an excellent subject when approached the right way.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been fortunate to garner teaching experience in a multitude of educational institutes over the past eight years. Prior to teaching English in secondary schools, I designed syllabuses for English Language schools and worked as a Director of Studies for a number of years. I have been teaching in secondary school for the past six years. I have a wealth of experience teaching Higher Level English to every year group. I have a plethora of experience with Senior Cycle English, both Higher and Ordinary. I have also taught the new Junior Cycle English course the last number of years. I have experience teaching in both boys and girls’ schools and can offer grinds to all levels.

Approach to Grinds:

I strive to make my grinds both enjoyable and impactful. I have a bank of tailored learning resources I can make available to my students depending on their needs.
I like to cater the material to my students interests where possible as it helps students engage with the subject and thus they are more likely to retain information. I believe that students often have a negative perspective when it comes to certain elements of English which impacts the way they interact with the subject. Certain sections and topics for example Shakespeare or Poetry intimidate students unnecessarily and when they are explained and discussed effectively can be easy to understand and thoroughly enjoyable. It is my aim to ensure students find that understanding and hopefully foster that enjoyment of English.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • NUI Galway (2016) - Professional Masters of Education (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Limerick (2012) - English Language Teaching (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • NUI Galway (2011) - English and Geography (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Dublin English tutor, Dublin Junior Cycle English tutor, Dublin Senior Cycle English tutor, Dublin Adult / Casual English tutor