Skip to main content

Information About Zainab - Leeds tutor

Profile Picture

Zainab's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Zainab:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00£17.10
Secondary £19.00£18.05
GCSE £20.00£19.00
Casual Learner £20.00£19.00

Map Location

Map for Zainab (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

Maths has opened up so many doors in my life and I wouldn’t be where I am without it. I am a published academic, I have lived, studied and taught in three countries and I have achievd that rare thing: job satisfaction. My love and gratitude to maths re what drive me as a teacher, wanting to instil in my students that same passion and understanding. That’s not always easy, I know, as I’ve spent much of my working life as a teacher helping people overcome deep-seated fears or outright dislike of the subject.

This just makes me love my job even more.

Having worked in the same place for a number of years now, I’m ready for a new challenge as a teacher and to explore some of my more specific interests as a mathematician. I would like to work with a broader range of students but also to explore topics in more depth with students, two things which one to one tutoring tends to be compatible with. As I also contemplate returning to research, I also value the flexibility that tutoring can provide outside of the standard 9 to 5 regime.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught maths ever since leaving school, starting as a student tutor whilst at university, progressing to teach undergraduate students during my PhD and then moving to the UK to teach maths in secondary schools.

Since gaining my PGCE in 2014 from Huddersfield, my main experience of teaching has been at post-16 colleges helping students to gain their GCSEs in Maths. I have taught students at all levels and abilities and have gained significant experience in helping students who have previously struggled to attain their desired grades. I have had success in getting students to exceed beyond their target grades.

Having taught in different countries and in different languages I have learned to be flexible with my approach, understanding that not all students have had the same experiences of learning and that people approach things differently. An academic at heart, I enjoy finding new approaches to learning and teaching, helping people to overcome barriers to learning.

Tutoring Approach:

My first question would always be: how can I help? My approach to tutoring depends entirely on the student and their individual needs. Maths is a subject that is shaped by a student’s individual perspective. Sometimes this perspective is the barrier to understanding and sometimes it’s the key to it. I’m here to help determine the difference.
I’ve taught at all levels, from school to university, and to all abilities as well. Probability states that I’ll be able to find an approach that works for you, including trying a more advanced approach than your teacher has. That’s the benefit of one to one tutoring and of me: I’m here to help you look beyond the syllabus.
Wherever possible, I will try to gain an understanding of your approach to learning and your support systems and strategies before I start to develop an approach to teaching. One size does not fit all. Most importantly, I’m not here to repeat the same things you’ve already heard or read. I want to find an approach that works for you. Most likely the reason you’re reading my profile is because something’s not worked for you and it’s worked for most other people. I’ll help you close the gaps.

Qualifications:

  • Huddersfield University (2015) - Post graduate certificate in Lifellong Learning (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Leeds City College (2012) - PTTLS (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Leeds City College (2012) - AAT (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Mysore, India (2011) - Ph.D Mahematics (Doctorate) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Persian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Leeds Maths tutor, Leeds Primary Maths tutor, Leeds Secondary Maths tutor, Leeds GCSE Maths tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Maths tutor