Skip to main content

Information About Yvonne - Dorking tutor -

Profile Picture

Yvonne's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Yvonne:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Yvonne offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Yvonne

Personal Description:

I have always loved actually doing mathematics and hope to share with my students the satisfaction of getting the right answer!
My whole working life has centered around the teaching and training of others. After obtaining my degree in Pure Mathematics I worked in the fledgling computer industry training customers in early Computer Aided Design systems. I stayed home with my children whilst they were very young and then opened a Maths and English tutoring centre which I ran for several years. I achieved my PGCE in teaching in 2001 and have been working as a secondary school Maths teacher ever since.
I have now reduced my working hours in order to spend more time tutoring GCSE and A level students in my home.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught every year group and ability level within the secondary school, from entering the school at age 11 all the way through to A level exams. I teach classes of up to 32 students and work with smaller groups for revision and extra help. I have also tutored students of every age group.
I am very familiar with the prerequisite skills and techniques required for progression through the maths curriculum. Whilst working as assistant manager in the Maths department in two local schools, I wrote several ‘schemes of work’ which are the long term plans for how to deliver the syllabus over the course of the year. As a tutor I use this experience to ensure that my students have covered the necessary topics on the new GCSE and A level exams.
I also work as an A level examiner every summer which is very useful when guiding students in how to maximise their marks in the exams.

Tutoring Approach:

I have always found that a genuine passion for maths has made it easier to pass this knowledge on to students. I like to create a focussed but relaxed environment to assist with the stresses and pressures often felt by students, particularly when exams are approaching.
Working one-on-one with students allows me reinforce basic skills and uncover any misconceptions very quickly. We can immediately start to plug any gaps and build the confidence needed to tackle the more complex topics. My students develop a positive attitude to keep trying, keep practising and always believing that they can improve!
Please note that I offer tutoring in my home or yours, but must charge an extra £10 per session if I travel to you.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • DFES (2002) - Secondary Mathematics (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • Birmingham (1978) - Pure Mathemtics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Dorking Maths tutor, Dorking GCSE Maths tutor, Dorking A-Level Maths tutor, Dorking Casual Learner Maths tutor