Skip to main content

Information About William - Westminster tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

William's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated William:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £120.00
Secondary £100.00
GCSE £100.00
A-Level £100.00
Casual Learner £100.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Primary £120.00
Secondary £100.00
GCSE £100.00
Casual Learner £100.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Primary £120.00
Secondary £100.00
GCSE £100.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Primary £120.00
Secondary £100.00
GCSE £100.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £120.00
Secondary £100.00
GCSE £100.00

Map Location

Map for William (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

MSci (Institute of Education, UCL) – Psychology (Child Development)
BSc (University College London) – Astronomy (Astrophysics)
Accredited Member of the Tutors Association

I am a highly experienced full-­‐time professional tutor specialising in maths, the sciences, reasoning and logic. Over the past seven years I have worked with more than 70 students in London, across the UK and internationally. The majority of my experience centres upon exam preparation for 11+, 13+, GCSE and A Level, though I also home-­‐school students outside mainstream education and deliver academic assessments. I also train other tutors. My passion for helping students and my desire to improve my own skill-­‐set led me to a Master’s degree in Child Development, which
I completed this year.

Experience

I have more than 4000 hours of experience, working with a great range of students, and even trainee teachers. As well as exam preparation I also enjoy engaging students with fun, hands-­‐on science experiments and practicals that help to nurture genuine interest in the STEM subjects.

Subjects and Levels taught (listed in order of experience)

-­‐ GCSE/iGCSE for Edexcel/OCR/AQA/CIE exam boards in maths, further maths, biology, chemistry, physics & science (dual award).
-­‐ 13+ ISEB Common Entrance in Maths, Science, Geography (learning assistance also given in History, Latin, English, Religious Studies and French).
-­‐ 11+ ISEB Common Entrance in Maths and Science (learning assistance also given in English).
-­‐ A-­‐level maths: Core (1, 2, 3, 4), Statistics (1) and Mechanics (1) modules from Edexcel and OCR exam boards.
-­‐ Key Stage 2 Maths, Science, Verbal & Non-­‐Verbal Reasoning.
-­‐ School specific entrance exams at 7+/8+/10+/11+/13+ and scholarship in Maths, Science and Reasoning including Eton, King’s College Wimbledon, Radley, Dulwich, City of London, Oundle and the North London Consortium schools.
-­‐ Key Stage 1 numeracy, literacy, verbal and non-­‐verbal reasoning,
-­‐ A-­‐level Physics: G481, G482, G484 and G485 from OCR exam board.
-­‐ Common Academic Scholarship ISEB in Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Geography.
-­‐ School specific entrance exams at 16+ for maths including King’s Canterbury, Dulwich, Hailebury and Canford.
-­‐ Specialist mathematical assessment course preparation including GMAT, QTS and the Olympiad.

Delivery

-­‐ Most of my tutoring is one-­‐on-­‐one however I have worked with pairs and small groups.
-­‐ I also provide online lessons, using Skype and other conferencing software and teaching tools.
-­‐ I am available for short-­‐term residential roles, and have I tutored in the UK, France, Luxembourg, Greece, Sardinia and the Caribbean. This has included accompanying British families on holiday, working with international students studying the UK curriculum in international schools, as well as seeing to the educational needs of foreign students who attend boarding school in the UK but live outside the UK during the holidays.

Specialist Experience

-­‐ I have experience with students who have learning difficulties such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, ADHD, ADD and severe memory disorders.
-­‐ I am experienced in helping students whose first language is not English.
-­‐ I have mentored students with domestic, social/behavioural issues including bullying, drug abuse and anorexia.
-­‐ I have home-­‐schooled a variety of students who dropped out from normal schooling either because of expulsion or where intensive tutoring was required to bring them up to a required level before re-­‐integration. This has involved
planning a curriculum, liaising with exams boards and taking responsibility for the delivery of an entire course.
-­‐ I offer science-­‐focussed educational day trips and outings.

Other Skills

-­‐ I have designed bespoke assessment materials and developed a system of analysis for use by educational consultants.
-­‐ I conduct tutor interviews both for private families and Roundtable Tutors for placements in London and abroad.
-­‐ I advise educational companies on product design and implementation, for example Brix Learning (an interactive A-­‐ Level Maths textbook, due for release later this year).

Interests

Whenever possible I love to travel. Exploring new cultures around the globe has been a passion since a young age. I also enjoy combining it with other hobbies such as rock climbing, scuba diving (PADI Open Water Qualified), surfing, mountain biking, wakeboarding, snowboarding and skiing (CASI ski instructor qualified). Closer to home I pursue my love for food, relishing any opportunity to cook for friends and family. I also harbour a passionate interest in all things science and science fiction based. A keen curiosity for gadgets and technology in general led me to train in Adobe software including Photoshop and Premiere at LCSE (London School of Computer Education) and with the skills acquired I have produced a variety of photography and video projects. My fascination with how children learn has meant much of my free time is now dedicated to developing new digital education resources. My masters in Child Development has helped guide the design of these resources according to the intrinsic mechanisms by which learning occurs.

Tutoring Experience:

Since I graduated in 2009 I have acquired a wide variety of tutoring experience since I first started.

I have worked with children as young as six in improving maths, literacy and reasoning skills all the way through to mature university students who require A-level Maths & Physics as a pre-requisite for their degree. I have helped prepare children for entrance exams as well as mentoring students with social/domestic problems.

The bulk of my experience revolves around preparing students for GCSE exams in Maths, Physics, Biology and Chemistry.

I also have experience working with high profile clients, have tutored internationally for clients based abroad, worked with children whose first language is not English and children with learning difficulties such as dyslexia, and dyspraxia.

Testimonials

-­‐ “I have known William for the four years he has tutored my son. He has the insight to quickly understand his student's strengths and weaknesses, and the many skills required to bring about real positive change right where it is needed. He has always arrived on time and is cheerful, focused and full of energy for the task. He has a wonderful rapport with my son and has helped develop in him not only a love of learning but greater determination to succeed. He makes his lessons interesting and has the knack of knowing what will engage and inspire. I have found him always to be
professional, hardworking and charming. The whole family feels lucky to know him.”

-­‐ “William is providing tutor support to both my girls who really enjoy their sessions with him. They are both very keen mathematicians and were looking for someone to provide a challenge and fun which they feel they get from their sessions with William. I would highly recommend his help”.

-­‐ “Will has been great and totally engaged my daughter in science and maths. He has a very natural manner that has enhanced the whole teaching environment”.

-­‐ “I employed Mr William to teach our three oldest children on several occasions from November 2010 and still now. Our gratitude for his patience, intelligence in assessing each child's character, engaging approach to teaching,
and knowledge. The children were happy to see him and made substantial progress in their curriculum. They also improved their football skills … in the process. He is also a pleasure to have around, for both the children and the adults.”

-­‐ “Patrick said you were the best maths teacher he knows and my boys agree that you are excellent. They both feel that they have learnt a great deal from working with you and would very much like to work with you in future, if you are able to spare the time. We all enjoyed getting to know you and admired your thoughtfulness and dedication to education.”

Tutoring Approach:

I have two approaches to my tutoring for the two main tutoring roles I most commonly fulfil.

For students who need help with a problem subject I try to make the lessons enjoyable and relaxed with a firm focus on building up confidence in their own ability. These lessons tend to be once or twice a week, usually after school, and sometimes involve direct assistance with the tutee's school-set homework. My aim generally is to break down the student's preconceptions of their own inability and inspire an active interest in the subject with non-curriculum based material. Often open discussion in environments away from a desk an chair, such as in a garden, can stimulate more productive sessions as well.

For those students (or parents/guardians!) who are panicked about impending exams the approach is more focussed and intense. Generally the aim is to make use of as much available time that both myself and the tutee can accommodate before their exam as commitments to other subjects can put severe restrictions on the time they can spare each week. We then, for the most part, work systematically through past papers to pinpoint weaknesses and then address only those weaknesses until both myself and the student feels confident that they are fully prepared for the exam.

In both approaches I strive to offer each child an approach tailored to suit them personally and address their individual needs in order to maximise productivity. My commitment is to do everything within my power to help the student fulfil their ambitions and enjoy doing it at the same time.

Qualifications:

  • UCL (2015) - Child Development (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • UCL (2009) - 2.1 Astronomy BSci (Astrophysics) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Tonbridge School (2004) - 3 A Levels Physics(A), Maths(B) Computer Science(B) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Tonbridge School (2002) - 10 GCSE's: Physics (A*), Maths (A), Biology (A), Chemistry (A), History (A), Geography (A), French (A), English Lit (A), English Language (A), IT (A). (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Westminster Maths tutor, Westminster Physics tutor, Westminster Chemistry tutor, Westminster Biology tutor, Westminster Combined Science tutor, Westminster Primary Maths tutor, Westminster Secondary Maths tutor, Westminster GCSE Maths tutor, Westminster A-Level Maths tutor, Westminster Casual Learner Maths tutor, Westminster Primary Physics tutor, Westminster Secondary Physics tutor, Westminster GCSE Physics tutor, Westminster Casual Learner Physics tutor, Westminster Primary Chemistry tutor, Westminster Secondary Chemistry tutor, Westminster GCSE Chemistry tutor, Westminster Primary Biology tutor, Westminster Secondary Biology tutor, Westminster GCSE Biology tutor, Westminster Primary Combined Science tutor, Westminster Secondary Combined Science tutor, Westminster GCSE Combined Science tutor