Skip to main content

Information About William - Peckham tutor -

Profile Picture

William's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated William:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £45.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £55.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £45.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £55.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £45.00
13 Plus £45.00
University £50.00

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £35.00
Secondary £40.00
Casual Learner £45.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £45.00

Personal Description:

I am a recent graduate of Magdalen College, Oxford and a passionate tutor of French, English and Music with hundreds of hours of tutoring experience. In the academic year 16-17 I was a full time music teacher in a Secondary Academy (ages 11-18).

I am now studying for a Masters in Performance at the Royal Academy of Music, London.

As well as private tuition in curriculum subjects, I'm always delighted to give Oxbridge practice interviews (literature, French, and 'general') and University application advice, and I have built up significant experience in supporting Oxbridge applicants in the past few years.

My teaching style

Naturally, feedback is given to my students regularly throughout each session - but I also give parents more formal written feedback on a regular basis (usually fortnightly or monthly)

I am very friendly and approachable - unlike some tutors who have become set in their ways and take a one-size-fits-all approach. In my view, such an approach quite defeats the point of private tuition - and I pride myself on my tutoring style which is designed for the individual needs of each student. Previous students have said how useful it has been to be able to send me an email and get a near-immediate response (see my super-fast response time to queries on this website!)

All my students needs are 'special'. However, some of London's top tutoring agencies send me specifically to work with young people with a range of learning difficulties.

I am a keen musician, I sing, and play the 'cello and piano. I have been fortunate to travel widely across Europe and North America, and have visited New Zealand and the Middle East with work engagements. And I have two cats called Figaro and Octave.

I hold a clean Enhanced Disclosure DBS certificate which was issued in November 2015 (I'm happy to bring a copy of this to the first session if requested)

Tutoring Experience:

Over 500 hours of experience tutoring a variety of levels and subjects from Year 4 to 6th Form in Arts and Humanities. I currently have students working towards GCSE English and French, and am particularly enjoying working with several students at KS3 English. (Years 7-9)

In the past I have worked as an AuPair in France, as a Teaching Artist in Residence for 6 weeks at New Zealand's top boys' school, and taught English for 6 months in a challenging inner-city Lycée (15-24 year olds) in Orléans France.

I have experience of working with a very wide range of young people, different ages, different languages, and from both the the most challenging state schools to the most privileged private schools.

Tutoring Approach:

My personal, positive experiences of one-to-one tuition whilst studying for A-Levels and at Oxford have greatly influenced my approach as a tutor. I am strongly motivated by drawing out the knowledge within each student in order to help them reach their true potential. Individual tuition is the best environment to achieve this, allowing sessions to be catered to the unique needs of the student. Through my individualised teaching plans I aim to develop my students’ enthusiasm for the subject, topic or paper, in order that they might be challenged in a fruitful and engaging way. My students enter examinations with boosted confidence, and I am particularly keen to work with young people for whom a big barrier to exam success is anxiety and nerves.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Magdalen College, University of Oxford (2015) - 2:1 BA (Hons) French (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Beaumont School, St Albans (2010) - A grade French A-Level (School) (✔ On File)
  • Beaumont School, St Albans (2010) - A grade English A-Level (School) (✔ On File)
  • Beaumont School, St Albans (2010) - A grade Music A-Level (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Peckham English tutor, Peckham French tutor, Peckham Entrance Exams tutor, Peckham Music tutor, Peckham English (Foreign Language) tutor, Peckham Primary English tutor, Peckham Secondary English tutor, Peckham GCSE English tutor, Peckham A-Level English tutor, Peckham Primary French tutor, Peckham Secondary French tutor, Peckham GCSE French tutor, Peckham A-Level French tutor, Peckham Casual Learner French tutor, Peckham Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Peckham Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Peckham University Entrance Exams tutor, Peckham Primary Music tutor, Peckham Secondary Music tutor, Peckham Casual Learner Music tutor, Peckham Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor