Skip to main content

Information About Will - Larbert tutor -

Profile Picture

Will's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Will:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00£27.00
GCSE £30.00£27.00
A-Level £30.00£27.00
University £30.00£27.00
Casual Learner £30.00£27.00

Physics

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00£27.00
GCSE £30.00£27.00
A-Level £30.00£27.00
University £30.00£27.00
Casual Learner £30.00£27.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have always been very enthusiastic about learning, and I always enjoyed and excelled at my studies in maths and physics. Helping others to understand my subject has always been fun and rewarding, from explaining the fundamentals of cosmology to my colleagues, helping people grasp the basics of laws of motion, and so on.

I love being able to share my knowledge and enthusiasm with others to help them to learn, and my studies and experience have served to constantly improve my skills at how to communicate my subject to others. To me, teaching and sharing knowledge is a most rewarding activity.

Tutoring Experience:

I have experience in tutoring maths and physics at all secondary school levels, and at university level, as well as helping undergraduate students with various aspects of applied astrophysics during my PhD.

Through my studies and previous tutoring experience, I have gained a vast amount of resources in maths and physics at different levels, and I can easily create specifically tailored notes and problem sets. I can provide these in either (or both) print and electronic form.

Tutoring Approach:

For one-to-one tutoring, I always find the best approach is to firstly spend some time with the student to gauge exactly how they feel about the subject, their current understanding of it, and what particular areas they struggle with the most. I would then align this information with the curriculum of the course (if there is no curriculum, say for a casual learner, I would quite easily create one tailored to the individual), and the time that there is available to spend with the student.

As well as explaining concepts, I like to set problems and lead the student through these during tutoring sessions, and then set homework assignments between sessions, which we then go through in the next session with solutions which I provide. If the student has their own notes, homework, and solutions sets, then I will appropriately tailor the provision of my own notes and problem sets so as to not overwhelm the student with materials.

Near the end of a block of lessons, I would then set a mock exam based on the curriculum that is being assessed. I provide detailed answers to these exams, which I will explain in detail.

I am happy to travel to meet students.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Warwick (2017) - Astrophysics (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Edinburgh (2012) - Astrophysics (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Larbert Maths tutor, Larbert Physics tutor, Larbert Secondary Maths tutor, Larbert GCSE Maths tutor, Larbert A-Level Maths tutor, Larbert University Maths tutor, Larbert Casual Learner Maths tutor, Larbert Secondary Physics tutor, Larbert GCSE Physics tutor, Larbert A-Level Physics tutor, Larbert University Physics tutor, Larbert Casual Learner Physics tutor