Skip to main content

Information About Virginia - Ipswich tutor -

Profile Picture

Virginia's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Virginia:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00
13 Plus £30.00

Map Location

Map for Virginia

Personal Description:

*******FULL BUT TAKING BOOKINGS FOR 2018********

I have been teaching for 18 years, 12 of those at Ipswich school, a co-educational day and boarding independent school. I have one son aged 15 who attends a local school. I formed my company, 'Results Tutoring' in June 2013 and left full time teaching in October 2013 to pursue my career in tutoring full time, which suits my family life. I am currently tutoring 26 students whose ages range from 8 to 40. I am familiar with OCR GCSE, AQA GCSE, CAMBRIDGE IGCSE, WELSH BOARD GCSE, EDEXCELL IGCSE, OCR GCSE, EDUQAS GCSE, OCR A AND AS LEVEL, AQA A LEVEL (spec A and B) and Language/literature Spec A and totally comfortable with the new specifications for both GCSE and A level.
** RESULTS UPDATE 2015 - 16 A Levels success! Students have places at their first choice Universities.** 2016 GCSE success as students raise achievement by two and three grades and go on to A level!**
recent results! - entrance test achievements - 100% of students have gained scholarships at local independent schools of their choice!
Students joining in November moved from D to A* grades for re-takes in January 2017

***PLACES ARE FULL BUT TAKING BOOKINGS FOR 2018.***
LIMITED DAYTIME SPACES AVAILABLE.

2016 results: all students passed; all raised 2 grades from school predictions.
2017 results: All raising 2/3 grades from school predictions; 100% pass rate grades 5-9 (B-A*)
*I am available to tutor home-schooled students during the day Key stage 2, 3 4. and 5 * I can travel to some homes for daytime tuition.*

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught across the age range from 11-18 and achieved considerable success. The last year I taught in a school, my G.C.S.E. class achieved 15 A* grades for Literature and several A and A* grades for Language. My classes have consistently achieved 100% above B grades for the last 12 Years. I am flexible to teach any syllabus or text and will adapt to the individual's needs. My knowledge is very extensive and I have a vast collection of resources which I am willing to share with students. I can provide photocopied resources, past papers, booklets and literary criticism to meet Assessment objectives and I am experienced in organising and moderating G.C.S.E. and A level coursework. I still maintain a connection with schools, having undertaken occasional short and long-term supply contracts in several schools in the Suffolk area and I have access to 11plus papers and other examination materials. I constantly up-dated my safeguarding training and also hold a current enhanced DBS (CRB) certificate. I am an examiner for AQA and now teach and will examine the new 9-1 spec. My students typically raise their achievement by one or two grades and my A level success last year was outstanding with two students raising grades from C to A*. I have experience with autistic spectrum conditions, (success A and A*) dyspraxia (success D/E raised to C) dyslexia and Irlens syndrome and enjoy offering tuition to meet the needs of individuals who struggle to reach their potential in mainstream school, whatever the reason. I have found that students who dislike school are nearly always enthusiastic about their one-to-one tuition!

Tutoring Approach:

I like to make it interesting and enjoyable. I teach my students to become independent in their thinking whilst guiding them in the precise skills necessary to pass the examination. I am passionate about my subject and I can guarantee that my enthusiasm is infectious! I have already had success in raising A level coursework and exam work from C to A* and candidates for private school entrance tests have passed. Feedback from students and parents has been positive - I work them hard but they enjoy it and feel their work and understanding has improved. I loved working in schools but the rewards I get from one-to-one tuition are even greater and I love being my own boss - I believe that the most important tool I can give students is the confidence to succeed.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • U.E.A. (1998) - post-grad teaching (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Essex (1994) - 2:1 Literature/Sociology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Suffolk college/6th form (1989) - A levels (4) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • School (1986) - O levels (11) (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Ipswich English tutor, Ipswich Entrance Exams tutor, Ipswich Primary English tutor, Ipswich Secondary English tutor, Ipswich GCSE English tutor, Ipswich A-Level English tutor, Ipswich Casual Learner English tutor, Ipswich Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Ipswich Secondary Entrance Exams tutor