Skip to main content

Information About Victoria - Stockbridge tutor

Profile Picture

Victoria's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Victoria:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

German

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

History

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
13 Plus £30.00
University £30.00

Map Location

Map for Victoria

Personal Description:

Hi! My name is Victoria. I graduated from Oxford University (The Queen's College) in 2016, with a First Class degree in English and German. Last year, I completed MA in Contemporary Literature, Culture and Theory at the King's College London. I am currently undergoing training to become a corporate solicitor.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring part time for the past two years, whilst also working on more of an ad hoc basis during my undergraduate degree.

I have taught a real range of students, with differing needs and schedules. My experience ranges a week long intensive preparation for a GCSE English Language re-sit, assisting a 12 year old French student with her entrance examinations for English schools, regular weekly sessions for students aged 10-12 who need help more generally with comprehension and creative writing skills, covering the entire GCSE history syllabus for a student who had moved schools at the end of Year 10 and was obliged to start the subject from scratch, to very focused sessions on specific literary texts (from Shakespeare, to contemporary novels).

I am committed to my students enjoying noticeable improvement in their marks. A former student went from an F in her GCSE history mock to a B in the final examination, after just 3 months of 1.5hr weekly tutoring sessions. Her parents were not only pleased with this obvious improvement in grades, but with her newly found engagement with her studies.

Tutoring Approach:

'There was never a word of complaint or dread of your arrival!' - Parent of former pupil.

Tutoring should not be a painful experience. It should be engaging and fulfilling for the pupil. If it is not, then something isn't working. My approach to tutoring is to ensure that every session is planned and carried out with that specific pupil in mind. I do not just regurgitate sessions that have been used in years gone by. My teaching is targeted and individualised.

I am a huge proponent of understanding what you are working towards. This means that if the purpose of the sessions is to achieve a particular grade in a particular exam, I work hard to ensure the the student fully understands the paper they are sitting, how it is marked, and how they can achieve the marks they want.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • King's College London (2017) - Contemporary Literature (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Oxford University (2016) - English and German (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • South Wilts Grammar School (2012) - A Level - 3 A*s in History, English and German (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • South Wilts Grammar School (2010) - GCSE - 13 A*s (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Stockbridge English tutor, Stockbridge German tutor, Stockbridge History tutor, Stockbridge Entrance Exams tutor, Stockbridge Secondary English tutor, Stockbridge GCSE English tutor, Stockbridge A-Level English tutor, Stockbridge Secondary German tutor, Stockbridge GCSE German tutor, Stockbridge A-Level German tutor, Stockbridge Secondary History tutor, Stockbridge GCSE History tutor, Stockbridge Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Stockbridge University Entrance Exams tutor