Information About Victor Manuel - Highgate tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Victor Manuel's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Victor Manuel:





Subjects Taught

Victor Manuel offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00£24.00
GCSE £35.00£28.00
A-Level £35.00£28.00
University £40.00£32.00
Casual Learner £35.00£28.00


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00£20.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

Map Location

Map for Victor Manuel (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a second year PhD Student in Pure Maths at Royal Holloway University of London. I have been tutoring Maths for 10 years, although I can't recall any year since I started school in which I wasn't helping some of my classmates with sciences in general.

I have always loved Maths. During my school years, I felt comfortable with the difficulty and I was always happy to help other students. I started developing my capacity to find different ways of explaining the concepts and examples for those of my classmates that would find difficult to follow the classes. Every time I was able to solve a problem, to help someone to solve a problem or to help someone to understand a concept, Maths (both teaching and research) would become closer to be my vocation.

As for Spanish, I've always loved to read and write. It is my mothertongue and I feel the urge of using it as correctly as I can. And as I moved to Catalonia at the age of 13 years old (having to learn Catalan to a similar level than mothertongue) and then moved to UK two years ago (having also to improve considerably my English), I certainly know some of the difficulties one can find when learning a foreign language.

I also studied music for 12 years. I played the clarinet, the guitar and I always loved trying new instruments. Later, I sang in choirs the last 8 years I lived in Barcelona.

Tutoring Experience:

I've been tutoring Maths for 10 years to students from the age of 8 years up to my age/educational level during the classes.
When I was still an undergraduate I worked two years as a Teaching Assistant at the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Barcelona), giving a complementary course for 1st year undergraduate students in Mathematics. Over those two years, I worked for 300 hours counting both class and office hours - those last consisting on attending questions and giving tutorials to smaller groups or individually during study hours.

From 2010 to 2013 I was working as a content editor for a textbook editorial. My tasks were creation, correction and edition of Maths teaching material for 12-16 year-old students.

I also worked for a year in an after-school center for children with learning disabilities such as dyslexia, ADHD or other disorders that can affect the learning process as autism.

Tutoring Approach:

I think there is a lack of individuality in our society regarding the learning process. When in front of a bunch of students and only little time to explain a new concept, the teacher is forced to pick one of the possible ways of doing so, to pick a very small amount of examples to ilustrate the explanation. But this one way may not be as helpful as other ways for the students to understand. And this is one of the two my reasons, in my opinion, why people find so difficult Maths.

The other main reason is that Maths are continued, constructive, meaning that to understand and master today's lesson one has to still master last year's lessons.

For that, I focus on finding the areas of mathematics where each of my students was lost and trying to help them understand and reconstruct from there, in a way that can suit their way of thinking and learning, up to the mathematics that they are currently learning.

Hence, I have to admit that if the only purpose of finding a Maths tutor is to achieve better scores in a single test or a single set of tests, I might not be a very good candidate. However, if the reason to search for a tutor is improving the mathematical understanding and skill, so that the student can achieve a later autonomy on the learning process and progressively improve his/her academical experience in Maths (yes, yes, that includes also improving the grades eventually!), I will be really happy to put my effort and time to it.

Some practical notes:
- I am flexible regarding times, but I do not normally tutor on weekends.
- I depend on public transport, and I would prefer not to expend more than a total of 1 hour between boths displacements.

If you are interested, please feel free to email me with any further question or to arrange a meeting.


  • Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (2012) - 6.8/10 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (2012) - 6.8/10 (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Spanish
Additional Languages: Catalan, English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Highgate Maths tutor, Highgate Spanish tutor, Highgate Secondary Maths tutor, Highgate GCSE Maths tutor, Highgate A-Level Maths tutor, Highgate University Maths tutor, Highgate Casual Learner Maths tutor, Highgate Secondary Spanish tutor, Highgate GCSE Spanish tutor, Highgate Casual Learner Spanish tutor