Skip to main content

Information About Verity - Teddington tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Verity's profile picture

References

This is how a referee rated Verity:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00

Map Location

Map for Verity (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

Currently on maternity leave. Taking on new clients in the summer break.

I am a dedicated and enthusiastic maths teacher with 7 years senior school experience. Having studied Economics at Cambridge University, I worked in London for 4 years as a financial analyst in an Investment Bank, before deciding to become a teacher. I subsequently gained a PGCE in Mathematics at Oxford University. I have taught for 2 years at an independent co-educational boarding school in Bristol, where in addition to teaching mathematics I was an assistant house-mistress and a hockey coach. Both of these roles helped to develop my ability to form a good rapport with my students and to better understand their individual needs. I subsequently taught at an independent day school in Surrey for 4 years, and I am currently teaching at a top independent day school in Hampton.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 7 years experience of teaching GCSE, IGCSE, AS and A2 level maths (C1, C2, C3, C4, M1, S1, S2 and FP1). I also have experience of tutoring the AP calculus course. My students have consistently exceeded performance expectations in their examinations, with many wishing to continue to study maths to a higher level. I have been doing private tutoring for 2 years, and prior to this offered individual out of hours tuition in the above modules during 2 years of teaching at a boarding school. Whilst I teach the Edexcel exam board syllabus, I am happy to tutor other syllabi.

Tutoring Approach:

I tailor my tutoring towards the needs of the individual and the targets that they have set themselves for their performance. I aim to improve a students understanding using a variety of techniques (ICT, worked examples, textbooks, diagrams, ‘back to basics’), and raise their confidence in their ability to tackle more and more complex material. I always try to look for new ideas and resources to develop my classroom teaching, and often adapt these for tutoring. I prepare each session with the individual in mind, and set additional work to consolidate the session’s learning. I look to foster a productive, and enjoyable working environment capable of achieving the highest personal expectations.

Qualifications:

  • University of Oxford (2008) - PGCE Mathematics (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • CFA (2007) - CFA level 1 (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Cambridge (2002) - MA Economics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Hewett School, Norwich (1999) - A-level: Maths (A), Further Maths (A), Physics (A), PE (A) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Teddington Maths tutor, Teddington Secondary Maths tutor, Teddington GCSE Maths tutor, Teddington A-Level Maths tutor