Skip to main content

Information About Val - Newbury tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Val:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Val offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £28.00
Secondary £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £28.00
Secondary £30.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £32.00

Map Location

Map for Val

Personal Description:

Personal Description
I am a lively grandmother who loves people, animals and life. I live almost opposite Greenham Common in Newbury with my husband and dogs. I have two children and five grandsons. I have kept up to date with teaching methods and have a wealth of experience in teaching children with different needs and problems. I have a calm, friendly and sympathetic manner and relate well to children of all ages. I enjoy the challenge that each pupil provides and am satisfied that I have always been able to make a difference, both to their self-esteem and to their learning.

Tutoring Experience:

Tutoring Experience
1999 – 2017: Have been tutoring children aged 7yrs to 14yrs in both English and Maths on a one-to-one basis. I started at ‘Saturday School’ tutoring children with Dyslexia. In 2001/2002 I went to BCOT in Basingstoke to do the hands-on course in ‘Teaching Children with Specific learning Difficulties’ and gained the OCR Certificate in ‘Teaching Learners with SpLD’. On qualifying, I became a member of PATOSS. (Professional Association of Teachers of Specific Learning Difficulties.)The course gave me fresh ideas on how to teach using a multi-sensory approach, how best to channel a pupil’s strengths and how to help him improve in areas of weakness.
1991 – 1994: Taught part-time in a private school in Malawi. I was given small groups of children who were struggling with Maths. At home I tutored privately, mainly taking children with literacy problems.
1973 - 1990: Taught full time in three different Independent/private Primary schools in South Africa for 17 years.

Tutoring Approach:

Tutoring Approach
I endeavour to make learning fun but important and to build confidence by acknowledging even the smallest successes. After some informal assessments I will detect the child’s strengths, weaknesses and preferred learning style. Lessons are then tailored to meet his specific needs. I use a multi-sensory approach engaging all the senses ie visual, auditory and practical.
I have found this approach to work for everyone whether severely dyslexic or simply needing some help due to late maturing, problems at school, or whatever…. I am not satisfied until my pupils have reached their full potential.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Basingstoke College of Technology (2002) - OCR SpLD Certificate (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Rhodesia Teachers' Training College (1962) - Teacher's Certificate (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Newbury Maths tutor, Newbury English tutor, Newbury Special Needs tutor, Newbury Primary Maths tutor, Newbury Secondary Maths tutor, Newbury Primary English tutor, Newbury Secondary English tutor, Newbury Primary Special Needs tutor, Newbury Secondary Special Needs tutor