Skip to main content

Information About Ummaz - Lancaster tutor

Profile Picture

Ummaz's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ummaz:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00

Map Location

Map for Ummaz

Personal Description:

Hello my name is Ummaz, more commonly known as Mazi; I am a first year medical student at Lancaster University. Having got this far, I think it's safe to say I have a deep knowledge of the subjects Biology, Chemistry and Maths up to A-level; having achieved AAA and an A* in my extended project on the causations of dementia. Being fresh out of sixth form, I understand the mental struggles of the student in our current educational system and I also understand how to combat them. From my experience, I truly believe that any student can achieve the grades they want through working smartly and consistently; regardless of IQ. I am not a genius, but I know how to work hard, I know which techniques are the most useful and which are a waste of time. More importantly, I have grasped the fundamentals of these subjects so well that tackling the advanced material isn't daunting to me. I will repeat, through commitment to a strong work ethic; anyone can achieve what they want in academia. I really am devoted to the few pursuits in my life, be that teaching, my own career and martial arts. Aside from that, I am an easy going guy, I really enjoy having a good time in whatever I do. I hope for a fun path towards success, opposed to a gruelling road which inspires nothing but misery. I really look forward to hearing from you, whilst the burden of work will lie on the student, I promise to do my best to instill the relevant knowledge and inspire a structure to the students learning.

Tutoring Experience:

Despite being only 19 years of age, I have been teaching most of my life. When I was 8 I would teach younger children the alphabet and how to add up numbers. 10 years later I'd find myself running the Chemistry cub for my college, teaching close to 300 AS students. In this experience I learned the qualities of a good teacher. Throughout A2 I was part of a group tutoring AS students in Biology as well.

Tutoring Approach:

Being a former student, my A-level experiences are still a part of me, I feel I will be able to relate to my student in ways a teacher who hasn't been a student for a long time cannot. From my experience, every student is unique, but generally speaking my plan towards success remains relatively the same. Firstly, understand the number of topics and which topics are in every exam. Secondly, work towards a plan in which we can complete learning the material two months before the exam. Thirdly, use simple (the simpler the method the better), but proved methods to memorise the material and be prepared for the application questions. Finally, get my student in the correct mindset to deal with exam pressure, so they will not hesitate to pull the trigger. I will of course tailor this approach to the individual.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Holy Cross College (2017) - A-level Biology: A (College) (✔ On File)
  • Holy Cross College (2017) - A-level Chemistry: A (College) (✔ On File)
  • Holy Cross College (2017) - A-level Maths: A (College) (✔ On File)
  • Holy Cross College (2017) - Extended project: A* (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Lancaster Maths tutor, Lancaster Biology tutor, Lancaster Primary Maths tutor, Lancaster Secondary Maths tutor, Lancaster GCSE Maths tutor, Lancaster Primary Biology tutor, Lancaster Secondary Biology tutor, Lancaster GCSE Biology tutor, Lancaster A-Level Biology tutor