Tony

Tony

Stonehouse Tutor

I'm a married father a two school-aged daughters, home tutoring Science and Maths, and finding time wherever possible to play guitar, read, play squash, social football, and swim, and go on family excursions in the lovely Cotswolds (our home since 2008). I also recently completed a PGDip in Clinical Applications of Psychology.

I've been involved in both secondary teaching and social care since leaving university, and have engaged in a lot of professional development in the realm of mental health (academically via postgraduate study and voluntarily within the NHS).

Home tutoring has been particularly rewarding during the past five years, whereby I have been able to support students who are not at school for medical / mental health reasons to attain good grades in their GCSE Maths and Science exams, and also support school students to achieve their potential with their A-levels in Biology and Maths.

Tutoring Experience

Starting my career as a teacher overseas in 2002, I progressed to setting up and teaching an International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme course for Biology in China 2004-2006. I came back as a newlywed PGCE trainee in summer 2006, then taught science in Devon for a year, before relocating to Stroud and diverting into a residential social care job.

This lasted for 6 years, involving a practical approach to teaching 3 co-resident young adults with special needs independent living skills whilst co-parenting our two young pre-schoolers.

Since 2013 I've been actively teaching on a supply basis in a range of mainstream secondary schools, alternative education settings, and for the past three years have focussed solely on private tutoring.

I have especially enjoying engaging with individual students on a one-to-one basis, co-designing personalised ways forward that work for them. This has in particular enabled me to expand my Science and Maths knowledge across several GCSE / iGCSE and A-level specifications, and build up a bank of teaching resources and questions from past papers.

In the past five years I have taught Additional Maths (OCR) and A-level (Year 12 and 13) Maths (Edexcel / OCR, Core 1, 2, 3 and 4, Mechanics 1, Statistics 1) to a number of able secondary students. I am currently tutoring several new specification Biology (OCR) and Maths (Edexcel and MEI exam boards) A-level students.

Tutoring Approach

My approach to tutoring is for the student to take ownership of the process of learning. By practising problems in the areas that are less well understood to build knowledge, understanding, skills and therefore confidence, students can improve their exam performance. They can see for themselves the areas of the curriculum that have been covered, and rate for themselves their understanding of each area as we go along. At the very least I start each course of lessons with an idea of the baseline attainment level (what is our starting point?) using any available indicators (e.g. school test performance, school reports) and seek to help the student move on to higher levels from there, and be involved in this process of "Assessment for Learning".

I try to find ways to help students understand concepts in science or maths, or both, that suits their learning style. I dedicate lots of time to marking work and giving written (and oral, in the lesson) feedback to this work, including indicated levels and / or grades.

Email communication is usually with students, with parents / guardians copied in. I make myself available by email to answer any student / parent questions between lessons, and seek to answer them within 48 hours of receipt, and usually within 24 hours.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (daytime)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Exeter2007PGCESecondary Science
University of Cambridge2005MastersNatural Science (Psychology)
Newman University2016OtherClinical Applications of Psychology
University of the West of England2013ProfessionalPGCert Specialist Practice

Tony's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Tony
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Casual Learner£25
Physics
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
Casual Learner£25
Chemistry
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
Casual Learner£25
Biology
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Casual Learner£25