Information About Toby - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Toby's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Toby:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00

Map Location

Map for Toby (Mr)


Personal Description:

Hi, I am a Geomicrobiology PhD Student at the University of Edinburgh and someone who is passionate about science, science communication and education. My interest is to help young people to achieve their full potential in the sciences in their school work. I am a friendly, approachable person who has been complimented on their ability to explain science in an easy to understand way for a a wide variety of age groups.

Tutoring Experience:

Cub Scout Leader (7-11) (2007-2009) In this role I taught the sub scouts outdoor skills, ran a range of outdoor activities, while also teaching them about astronomy and science.

Teaching assistant on various occasions for both of my parents (my mother works in a primary school, my father teaches in an engineering department of a sixth form college).

I organized and delivered a series of Biology revision sessions for my peers at Sixth Form College (2009).

I was a tutor on the 1st Year Undergraduate Physics module Astrobiology at the University of Edinburgh (Oct-Dec 2013), teaching tutorial groups of 10-20 students and marking their assessments.

Tutoring Approach:

In my opinion, one of the most important aspects of tutoring to any age range is to understand that each students mind will work and process information in different ways; therefore if you wish to teach or tutor effectively you need to be able to explain concepts and ideas in a variety of ways and using different approaches to maximise the chance of understanding and storing of that knowledge by the student. This is an ideal that has been drilled into me through long conversations with my parents about their extensive teaching experience and my own experience of teaching and tutoring students.

I personally, am a visual learner, who benefits from drawing a diagram or a picture much more than writing a list of facts. Therefore my approach to tutoring is to ask the student how they best learn and to use this is as a starting point to build upon for aiding them with their studies. This may mean simply drawing diagrams, writing lists or talking about concepts; or it may mean building models, watching explanatory videos or using props.


  • Open University (2013) - Certificate in Contemporary Science (60 credits, 30 UTCS) (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University of East Anglia (2013) - 1st Class Honours - Biological Sciences with a Year in Industry (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Brentwood County High School (2009) - A-Level Biology (A), History (A) Chemistry (B) General studies (A) AS level Maths (B) Further Maths (D) (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Brentwood County High School (2007) - GCSEs 4A*, 8A and 1B (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Physics tutor, Edinburgh Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Biology tutor, Edinburgh Primary Physics tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Physics tutor, Edinburgh Primary Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Primary Biology tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Biology tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Biology tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Biology tutor