Skip to main content

Information About Timothy - Egham tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

Timothy's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Timothy:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Timothy offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00£25.50
University £30.00£25.50

Biology

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00£25.50
University £30.00£25.50

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00£25.50

Music

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00£25.50

Map Location

Map for Timothy (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a PhD student studying mathematical and theoretical biology at RHUL, University of London. I have a strong background in Mathematics and Biology, with a BSc (joint honours) from Bristol University in both areas and an MSc in Advanced Mathematical Biology from York University. I am a keen and enthusiastic scientist with a great deal of passion for the areas in which I am able to teach. My PhD time is highly flexible and I am happy to travel if required & it is possible.

Tutoring Experience:

I have roughly 5 years of tutoring experience in various forms: tutoring at undergraduate level for both biology and maths for 2 years and 3 years of a mixture of A-level and GCSE tutoring.

I was a college tutor at Vanbrugh college during my MSc at York, meaning I was tutoring in some capacity on a daily basis. This was both in a pastoral role and in an academic role giving me the chance to develop both attributes allowing for a well-rounded approach to tutoring. The college comprised of roughly 600 1st year students, of which I was directly responsible for 150. I organised and lead maths workshops giving undergraduates the chance to ask questions and work on problems together. I also offered one to one tutoring for electric bass guitar, maths or biology, which I did for about 6-10 hours a week.

Before this, I gained 2 years of tutoring experience in the form of private tutoring for GCSEs and A-levels in both biology and maths in the Shropshire and North Wales area, one year of which was through this website. See the testimonials and reviews for an overview.

My first experience of tutoring professionally was offering electric bass guitar lessons and music theory lessons again in the Shropshire and North Wales area after achieving my Grade 8 qualification in both.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe first and foremost that engaging with a subject so that a student begins to enjoy the time spent on it is the crucial step towards success in understanding. This is usually achieved by instilling passion in the student by use of examples which outline the applicability and breadth of the subjects being taught. Ensuring the student in comfortable with the pace and approach to teaching is also crucial, as it is all too often that a student disengages unncessarily due to the relationship or style of the teaching not quite fitting with the student.

Qualifications:

  • University of York (2015) - MSc Advanced Mathematical Biology (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Bristol University (2013) - BSc Joint honours maths and biology (College) (✔ On File)
  • Registry of guitar tutors (2009) - Grade 8 electric bass (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Shrewsbury sixth form (2009) - A-levels in maths, further maths, biology and music (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Egham Maths tutor, Egham Biology tutor, Egham Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Egham Music tutor, Egham A-Level Maths tutor, Egham University Maths tutor, Egham A-Level Biology tutor, Egham University Biology tutor, Egham A-Level Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Egham A-Level Music tutor