Skip to main content

Information About Tim - Camden tutor

Profile Picture

Tim's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Tim:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £20.00

Map Location

Map for Tim

Personal Description:

I am a honest, hard-working and approachable young man who has just finished a gap year and starting my degree at University College London, studying Natural Sciences - Biomedical Sciences with Maths and Statistics. My degree is very much based in experimental method and problem solving, which I have always been interested in, which provide a good background to tutor Maths, entrance exams and 11+.

I have a vast range of experience, from restaurant and bar work, to tutoring and working with young adults with complex needs. From all my experience, I would say my communication skills, patience and determination have all been heightened, which are all key ingredients to tuition.

Whilst at school, I was a senior prefect, I was a key member of the Charities Committee, I ran a tri-school science society, I was an editor of the schools magazine and managed to work in a restaurant and maintain my school work. My time management skills and leadership were massively developed, and these have benefited my tutoring.

During my gap year I worked at a college with young adults with severe learning difficulties and challenging behaviour, worked in a restaurant and also tutored. I thoroughly enjoyed helping the young adults make progress by supporting them in a variety of settings. My passion to help make progress is a key reason I enjoy tutoring so much.

My interests are mainly in neuroscience, for example understanding disorders such as autism and I hope to become a psychiatrist after my degree. I enjoy listening to a wide range of music, reading about history of art, philosophy , watching French cinema and swimming.

GCSE Grades - 10 A* including English, Maths, three languages and triple science
A Level Grades - A* Chemistry and Maths A Biology and French

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored or mentored one to one for over 5 years. I first began mentoring in schools in underprivileged areas around my school, and then those younger students in my school. I thoroughly enjoyed giving back to my community and my school, and helping the students make progress and reach targets that they were struggling to reach.

I have tutored a range of subjects, but I feel my strengths lie in the sciences due to my passion for problem solving. I have tutored Maths at primary school, secondary school and GCSE level with one family.

Whilst the lessons at the college I worked at in my gap year were not traditional subjects, I have gained invaluable experience in teaching and one to one support. I have learned to persevere for progress, not giving up, and I have learned to give as much time as required to get this progress.

References can be provided on request.

Tutoring Approach:

As I recently finished school myself, I am aware than in classroom settings, students may not always get on with the teacher, or the teacher may not always have time in the class to explain something a different way to each student. Whilst this is not ideal, class teachers cannot be expected to do this and keep up with the curriculum. As a result, it is unfair that students may not be receiving an education more specific to them, perhaps leaving them with a lower understanding.

This is why I aim to offer a personalised approach to tutoring. I think it is a very important to look at the tutee as a whole and see which methods would work best to increase the students understanding on the matter. It is very important to me to be flexible about how to teach.

I like to keep the sessions informal, as I like to keep the pressure at a minimum during one to one tuition, but I would ask tutees for their best work and full attention.

In terms of what I usually do in a session, I would ask for a topic or a few topics to be given a few days beforehand, so that I can prepare resources. I do normally provide a small amount of work to be done when I am not there so that tutees can apply their knowledge and do practise questions, which I will mark and give feedback on.

For those doing GCSE's, I normally ask for a list of topics at the start of the our tutoring agreement, and I can create a flexible lesson plan based on that. I look closely at exam technique, as I believe understanding is vital but not everything. With the combination of understanding and exam technique, I hope students can attain the higher grades they were working towards.

I aim to not only improve understanding, but improve confidence around the subject, as I have found that many students are reluctant to try so that they do not get it wrong.

My aim for all students would be to enjoy their education as much as possible whilst working hard to improve their understanding and confidence in the subject.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Manchester Grammar School (2013) - Chemistry A Level A* (School) (✔ On File)
  • Manchester Grammar School (2013) - Maths A Level A* (School) (✔ On File)
  • Manchester Grammar School (2011) - Chemistry GCSE A* (School) (✔ On File)
  • Manchester Grammar School (2011) - Maths GCSE A* (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Camden Maths tutor, Camden Entrance Exams tutor, Camden Primary Maths tutor, Camden Secondary Maths tutor, Camden GCSE Maths tutor, Camden Primary Entrance Exams tutor