Skip to main content

Information About Thomas - Edinburgh tutor -
(9 reviews)

Profile Picture

Thomas's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Thomas:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Economics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Thomas (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a graduate of the University of St. Andrews in Maths with Economics. I live near the shore in Edinburgh, and am happy to travel to the students home.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring at all high school levels for over seven years, as well as with adults. I have experience of tutoring students with learning disabilities.

Tutoring Approach:

I find that it is important to not teach in a formulaic way, but to approach fundamental concepts in a manner tailored to the individual student. I will initially focus in on the areas a student finds most enjoyable, subtly and often indirectly building up their skills and confidence in the areas they find more challenging whilst maintaining their interest and enthusiasm. I feel it is important that the student knows why they are performing an operation before they learn how to perform it. This tends to involve teaching multiple methods of solving problems and making sure the student understands why they are equivalent. Once I am sure they have a good grasp of the underlying concepts and have explored different ways of looking at problems, I will help them find their own preferred style and perspective and settle on the methods they find most intuitive, in order to build confidence. With a good intuitive understanding of the nature of the problem, as opposed to formulaic rote learning, students are often surprised at how good they have become without even realising it. Once this is achieved, this is then applied to past examination papers repeatedly, so that students become familiar with the way that questions are asked, and learn how to utilise exam time most effectively within the framework of the relevant marking scheme. I will also help a student with any ongoing coursework, as well as providing my own material, including past exam papers for revision.

Qualifications:

  • St. Andrews University (2003) - Maths with Economics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Maths tutor, Edinburgh Economics tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Maths tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Maths tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Maths tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner Maths tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Economics tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Economics tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Economics tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner Economics tutor