Skip to main content

Information About Theresa - Greenwich tutor -

Profile Picture

Theresa's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Theresa:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £40.00£36.00
A-Level £45.00£40.50
Casual Learner £45.00£40.50

Physics

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £40.00£36.00
A-Level £45.00£40.50
Casual Learner £45.00£40.50

Electronics / Electronic Engineering

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £40.00£36.00
A-Level £45.00£40.50

Cantonese

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £40.00£36.00
Casual Learner £45.00£40.50

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
13 Plus £35.00£31.50

Map Location

Map for Theresa

Personal Description:

I graduated with General Engineering from Durham University whilst reciving a highly commended entrant award from the undergraduate awards, an international award. With over 7 years of private tuition experience in physics and maths at a range of levels and exam boards, I am able to deliver high quality teaching through understanding each students learning style, needs and apply the most effective lesson plan tailored to each individual.

I have outstanding grades in General Engineering at Durham University with no criminal records and hold a CRB check. I won the highly commended undergraduate award in 2012 for engineering and a distinction in the Loughborough best maths programme, scoring 100% throughout the year in all exams. As a STEM (science technology, engineering and mathematics) ambassador, I aim to help my students not only to be good at the subject but to enjoy the subject!

I am currently working as a Engineer and asset manager with UK top 11 big company.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been in the University Navy for 4 years in which I participated in a CCF camp as a Midshipmen. At this camp I supervised 4 Cadets (each group per day).

Upon graduation, I volunteered 3 weeks as an English teacher in a rural Cambodian village. I taught a class of 50 students, three classes per day.

I have been teaching students of all levels, from primary school to college, with over 7 years teaching experience. All students have improved at least one level in grades/results. A recent student (2017) achieved A* and will studying Medicine at Birmingham University. Another student managed to get scholarship (one of two students in the year) at Arizona University, USA to study Nursing.

Tutoring Approach:

For those who are unsure what topics they need to improve on, I normally commence my first few lessons with a test to investigate the current status of the student. This will help me to establish lesson plans and understand what the student find difficult. Then I would use various example to demonstrate when and how each method is applied.

Throughout the course, I will slowly introduce new idea to develop the students' confidence. Gradually, once the student becomes relatively confident with the topic, I will challenge them further with more complicated questions.

Then I would ask them to do it (normally as homework) for the next lesson or what kind of topics they would want me to cover. Normally I would work in conjunction of the topics they are taught at school as experience shows that student learn more effective.

I will provide feedback and comments to both parents or student at the end of every lesson to ensure.

At the beginning of each lessons, I would go through the questions that they have got wrong and discuss with them why they found that difficult to gain a better understanding and hopefully be able to discuss where the problem lies.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Chinese
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Durham University (2012) - General Engineering (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Clitheroe Royal Grammar (2008) - Maths with Mechanics (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Clitheroe Royal Grammar (2008) - Biology (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Clitheroe Royal Grammar (2008) - Physics (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Greenwich Maths tutor, Greenwich Physics tutor, Greenwich Electronics / Electronic Engineering tutor, Greenwich Cantonese tutor, Greenwich Entrance Exams tutor, Greenwich Secondary Maths tutor, Greenwich GCSE Maths tutor, Greenwich A-Level Maths tutor, Greenwich Casual Learner Maths tutor, Greenwich Secondary Physics tutor, Greenwich GCSE Physics tutor, Greenwich A-Level Physics tutor, Greenwich Casual Learner Physics tutor, Greenwich Secondary Electronics / Electronic Engineering tutor, Greenwich GCSE Electronics / Electronic Engineering tutor, Greenwich A-Level Electronics / Electronic Engineering tutor, Greenwich Secondary Cantonese tutor, Greenwich GCSE Cantonese tutor, Greenwich Casual Learner Cantonese tutor, Greenwich Secondary Entrance Exams tutor