Information About Teresa - Hampstead tutor

Profile Picture

Teresa's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Teresa:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00


Personal Description:

Hello, my name is Teresa and I am a friendly, quirky and optimistic person! I love helping people understand things and achieve their potential, to be able to do this in an field I am so passionate about is simply amazing. I am a 2nd year undergraduate mathematics student at University College London (MSci Mathematics course) and in my spare time I dance salsa and play / sing classical music. I feel that the creativity of my hobbies allows me to approach problems in different ways and explain things from alternative view points that may not occur to most people. I look forward to helping you overcome your difficulties and succeed where you think you can't!

Tutoring Experience:

Over the past few years there have been two main areas which I have taught.
Mathematics: I have tutored students from the high school I attended, in GCSE and A Level standard maths. During my final year in Sixth Form I supported a middle set GCSE maths class as a teaching assistant / one-to-one helper.
Music: Similar to the above, in my first year of Sixth Form I supported a Year 9 music class. I have also had private music students in French Horn, Trumpet and Music Theory, and lead vocal workshops and choral rehearsals in two schools.

Tutoring Approach:

As a tutor, there are two things that are really important and that I particularly focus on; firstly, my student's confidence in their own ability, and secondly, their understanding of the content - "why?" is my favourite question as I believe it is not enough to just be able to recite content.
For GCSE and A Level standard, I prefer to teach and consolidate content through exam style questions as this allows the student to learn good exam technique naturally and associate what they might face in the exam with a comfortable setting, thus reducing the 'exam panic' that many people suffer from.
I encourage interaction from my students, and find that talking through questions and identifying problem areas at the start of a question helps us to together create an individual plan of action for how to tackle things that at first might make them feel uncomfortable.
In general, I like to teach in a focused but relaxed environment so my students feel sure they will get a good understanding of the content they are not yet confident with and are comfortable enough to ask questions - no question is too silly!


  • University College London (2019) - MSci Mathematics (Masters) (in progress)
  • Ysgol Eirias (2015) - A Levels - Maths (A*), Further Maths (A*), Physics (A*), Music (A) (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • JRNCM (2015) - ABRSM Grade 8 - French Horn (Distinction), Voice (Distinction), Piano (Merit), and Music Theory (Merit) (all achieved in 2014 - 2015) (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Ysgol Eirias (2013) - GCSEs - 3 A*s, 7 As and 2 Distictions (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hampstead Maths tutor, Hampstead Physics tutor, Hampstead Music tutor, Hampstead Primary Maths tutor, Hampstead Secondary Maths tutor, Hampstead GCSE Maths tutor, Hampstead A-Level Maths tutor, Hampstead GCSE Physics tutor, Hampstead Primary Music tutor, Hampstead Secondary Music tutor, Hampstead GCSE Music tutor