Skip to main content

Information About Tamara - Chester tutor -
(10 reviews)

Profile Picture

Tamara's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Tamara:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Religious Studies

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

Drama

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

Map Location

Map for Tamara (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I taught full time in comprehensive schools for over twenty years. I feel that tutoring benefits students who are in need of conficence building or focusing on specific examination requirements. I have two children, a daughter in her third year of teaching and a son in his first year of a law degree, so I see the education system from both sides. What I find really rewarding about the tutoring process, is that the students actually find themselves enjoying the time spent on the subject, a great motivator!

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught English, Drama and RE to GCSE standard for over twenty years to a wide range of abilities, and English Literature to A2. My particular strength is a warm and encouraging manner which helps less confident students to build their confidence and self-esteem. As an examiner myself, I do have that extra insight into the examination process. As a tutor I have helped students improve by 5 GCSE grades. I could never achieve that in the school setting although I have been graded highly as a teacher. Schools have often been helpful in sending information that parents could share with me. School, parents and I want the best outcome for the child.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to start by discussing the homework given to the student on the previous meeting, talk about any issues with their lessons at school and then discuss the material for the next task and how they would go about tackling it. I am also happy for students to email me between tutoring sessions to ask for any extra support they might need. I don't expect any child to want to come to tuition. When my daughter had to have a brace, she didn't want one. She wanted the beautiful smile. In just the same way, all I expect from students is that they want to improve. And it's more fun that the orthodontist!

Qualifications:

  • Crewe and Alsager FE (1990) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • London University (1982) - BA Hons English Literature and History, PGCE Secondary education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chester English tutor, Chester Religious Studies tutor, Chester Drama tutor, Chester Primary English tutor, Chester Secondary English tutor, Chester GCSE English tutor, Chester Casual Learner English tutor, Chester Secondary Religious Studies tutor, Chester GCSE Religious Studies tutor, Chester Secondary Drama tutor, Chester GCSE Drama tutor