Skip to main content

Information About Susan - Chiswick tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Susan's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Susan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £40.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Map Location

Map for Susan (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I recently completed a PGCE in which I have specialised in literacy in the post-compulsory sector. Prior to this I gained extensive experience in teaching and have taught in a mainstream secondary school and a language school. I have particularly focused on preparing students for a variety of exams, but I do enjoy teaching at any level.
Before entering the teaching profession I trained as a journalist and worked as a sub-editor for several years.
My hobbies include reading, writing, going to the theatre, walking, sailing and music.

Tutoring Experience:

Having completed a Cambridge CELTA course in 2008, I gained valuable experience from working in a secondary school for 4 years, I worked with overseas students who had come to study GCSE and A levels in the UK, with the view to going onto higher education here. My main role was to teach English for academic purposes and I am pleased to say that I helped many of my students to secure entry to some of our high-calibre universities, such as Oxford and Cambridge. Following a move to London, I then went to teach in a language school, where I taught a wide range of students; from elementary through to advanced. However, in the the main I worked with advanced students and, again, did a lot of exam preparation. More recent experience has included teaching English in FE colleges and 1-1 tutoring for GCSE English Literature and Language.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a flexible approach to teaching and steer away from the 'one size fits all' approach. I believe in seeing my students as individuals and to help to identify their strengths and weaknesses and to work towards their own personal goals.
I am a resourceful teacher and I use different pedagogical approaches to suit my students. I care fervently about learning outcomes and enjoy seeing my students progress.

Qualifications:

  • UCL London (2014) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Cambridge (2008) - CELTA (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • London College of Communication (1987) - Certificate in Production Journalism (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Friern School for Girls (1970) - O level English Literature, English Language, Maths, French, Art (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chiswick English tutor, Chiswick English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick Primary English tutor, Chiswick Secondary English tutor, Chiswick GCSE English tutor, Chiswick Casual Learner English tutor, Chiswick Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Chiswick Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor