Skip to main content

Information About Susan - Swansea tutor

Profile Picture

Susan's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Susan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £16.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £23.00

Map Location

Map for Susan

Personal Description:

I am a married mum with a teenage son who has recently embarked on his 'A' Level studies. My family and I have recently moved to my home town of Swansea from a town in Surrey.
I am approachable and friendly and take pride in being organised, methodical and reliable.
I feel very happy and excited about living in Swansea again, and I'm enjoying visiting old 'haunts', whilst discovering the many changes that have taken place during my absence.

Tutoring Experience:

Whilst living in Surrey, I worked for ten years as a qualified Higher Level Teaching Assistant in a large, mainstream secondary school. This role included teaching small groups of students, delivering one-to-one lessons and whole class lessons. As such I was responsible for the preparation and delivery of all of my lessons, along with monitoring and being responsible for the progress of my students.
I worked in the English Faculty and taught English Language and English Literature up to GCSE along with Literacy Skills. I received training in supporting students with special needs including dyslexia, Autistic Spectrum Disorder, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Attention Deficit Disorder and Communication and Interaction difficulties.
For the last three years I have combined my career at school with a private tutoring business. I have taught students privately in English up to GCSE and built up a reputation of which I am very proud. All of my students came to me by 'word of mouth' and I have compiled a portfolio of wonderful testimonials which can be viewed by prospective clients. I became so busy with my tutoring that I decided to try to reduce my working hours at the school to free up more time for tutoring. However, my head teacher was reluctant to spare me from school so this was not possible and I remained valued at the school as well.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe strongly in 'aiming high' whilst at the same time acknowledging that it is hugely detrimental to a young learner's development to force 'fish to climb trees'.
I do not believe in a 'one size fits all' approach and my years in teaching have shown me that it is crucial to get to know my students' learning styles thoroughly and adapt my teaching accordingly.
I am very patient and empathetic and always encourage my students to feel that they can question me at any point if they are uncertain about a topic or any aspect of their learning. My lessons focus on a trusted interaction between myself and my student in which they can participate positively in the learning.
Building confidence is the key to success, and where this confidence has been eroded for any number of reasons, I see it as my job to repair this damage and give students back their self-esteem and self-respect. From this we can build and build until they reach a much more positive mindset and the learning becomes second nature.
It is important to me that both my tutees and their parents/guardians feel that they can question me at any time about any aspect of their learning, and I welcome feedback at all times.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • 4S (2008) - Higher Level teaching Assistant (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Portsmouth University (1983) - French and Business Studies with Hons (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Gowerton Comprehensive School (1979) - 3 'A' Levels (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Gowerton Comprehensive Schol (1977) - 10 'O'Levels (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Swansea English tutor, Swansea Primary English tutor, Swansea Secondary English tutor, Swansea GCSE English tutor