Sue

Sue

Saffron Walden Tutor

I am a qualified teacher with a degree in German /French and over 25 years' teaching experience. I have worked as a private tutor for five years since retiring from teaching in schools- and I love it! It's very rewarding to work with students on a one-to-one basis and my students have all seemed to enjoy the experience. I am passionate about teaching languages, because I believe it opens so many doors to understanding people from different cultures. Discounts are available for small groups of a similar ability (not for GCSE).

Tutoring Experience

I have taught languages in English comprehensive schools for over 25 years. I was Head of Languages in a very successful school for a number of years. I am familiar with the current requirements of all the GCSE examining boards. IGCSE and Common Entrance. I have been an examiner for GCSE and IGCSE. Most of my teaching and tutoring experience has been with 11 - 18 year olds, especially those approaching public exams. However, I have an increasing number of primary school pupils, who enjoy languages and want to get off to a flying start when they start secondary school. I also tutor adults, who want to learn a language for holiday or business reasons.

Tutoring Approach

I am well aware that it is difficult for students in a large class to have individual attention from their teacher and know how beneficial one-to-one tuition can be, particularly for the speaking test. During an initial assessment, I will establish the student's needs and tailor a programme to suit the individual. Parents/carers will receive regular feedback about progression. I will not make unrealistic promises, but it would be very surprising if the student didn't make quite rapid progress. I will be available online between lessons if a student needs extra help and encouragement. I aim to increase a student's confidence by demonstrating what they can do and giving guidance on how they can improve.

Here are some comments made by recent students:

“I got A in German including A* in Reading and Speaking, A in Writing and B in Listening. Thanks for all the help. I could not have done it without you.” RB (GCSE German)

“Just thought I would tell you that I got my results today and I got a B. Thanks for all your help.” CE (GCSE French)

“I just wanted to let you know that I got an A in German! Thank you so much for all your help. I really couldn't have done it without you.” PB (A level German)

“He got an A*! I hope you are as happy with that as I am! Can't thank you enough. You really made a huge difference: not just in managing to teach him the language but also in rebuilding his confidence.” AT’s mother (GCSE German)

“I got an A in German overall, with As in reading and listening, an A* in writing and a B in speaking. I'm really pleased with that. If someone asks, I'll definitely recommend you. Thanks so much for all your support and help. FW (GCSE German)

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, German
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Goldsmiths, London1982PGCEPGCE
Queen Mary, London1977BachelorsBA (Hons) London

Sue's Feedback

Feedback
5
Published feedback
5
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Sue
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
German
Primary£20
Secondary£25
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Casual Learner£25