Skip to main content

Information About Stevie - Reading tutor

Profile Picture

Stevie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Stevie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £25.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Stevie

Personal Description:

I have a BA (Hons) degree in European Business and languages specialising in French I also have a certificate in English language teaching to adults (CELTA ).
I am professional but approachable and friendly and have a genuine love of both the sound of French and the mechanics of French and English grammar. Yes I like grammar!
My love of French started at the age of eight when I went on family holidays in France and although I could not understand the language I loved the sound of French, even the announcements over the tannoy in the supermarket, and I really wanted to be able to speak the language myself.
I have studied and worked abroad in a variety of roles improving my language skills and gaining teaching experience.
I have two small children, a husband and three guinea pigs and love getting out for walks and picnics no matter what the weather with my family.
I am available during school hours or evenings for tutoring. I am available to tutor at home or will happily travel to you in the local area if preferred.
I can tutor French and EFL to all levels.
I am DBS checked.

Tutoring Experience:

My experience of tutoring began at the age of sixteen when I spent a summer with a family in France teaching English on a daily basis to their two young children. This gave me the teaching bug and since then I have travelled and worked abroad teaching French and English as a second language in a variety of settings to students of varying ages and standards.
I have taught both in classrooms and on a one to one basis. I have done private tuition but also worked in a language school in France teaching English to adults and tutoring expats in French.
Currently I run a lunchtime French club at my children’s primary school for Key Stage 1 pupils.

Tutoring Approach:

Learning a language should be structured but fun. Developing language skills in a one to one setting can be as enjoyable as group learning through activities and exercises to increase understanding.
I have a systematic approach to tutoring but this will vary dependant on the student’s needs and learning style and of course on their age and experience.
Visual aids and game play are useful tools to reinforce language points learnt and ease students into using new forms, structures and vocabulary as their understanding of the language grows.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Institute of Direct Marketing, Middlesex (2006) - IDM Diploma in Direct and Interactive Marketing (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • West Cheshire College, Chester (2001) - (CELTA) Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lynda Hazelwood Language Services, Bristol (1997) - (TESOL) Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Central Lancashire (1992) - BA (Hons) European Business Administration and Languages, 2 (i) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Reading French tutor, Reading English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading Primary French tutor, Reading Secondary French tutor, Reading GCSE French tutor, Reading A-Level French tutor, Reading Casual Learner French tutor, Reading Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor