Steven

Steven

Dalkeith Tutor

I am a friendly, people-oriented and enthusiastic person. Having spent time in settings with many other students and professionals, I find it very easy to adapt to new surroundings.

I have a great passion for languages and believe that having an intermediate knowledge of at least one other language is a great advantage, especially today. It can open doors to many new, diverse opportunities, something which I have been lucky enough to experience.

When I am not at work during the day, I enjoy further developing my language skills, keeping up-to-date with world affairs (in different languages), reading, cooking and spending time with friends and family.

Tutoring Experience

During my 4-year Masters course at Heriot-Watt University, I spent one year abroad in both France and Switzerland for 6 months each, living and studying at university there in order to improve my skills and experience in using the respective foreign languages on a day-to-day, mother-tongue-proficiency basis. As well as attending university each day, I also had to take exams in each language and write my 5000-word dissertation in German.

The time I have taken to study foreign languages has enabled me to learn all the skills and attributes required to be able to help others learn in a professional capacity. With many years of education and experience behind me, I believe that I can offer a high standard of tutoring in both French and German, whether it be a basic knowledge of the language or learning the language to a level of proficiency.

After my course at university, I spent 6 months in Germany working for a translation company. Here I had a great opportunity to develop my language skills even further by translating a wide variety of texts, including medical, technical and financial from German and French into English on a daily basis, something which I continued to do as a freelance translator upon moving back to Scotland.

In August 2014, I began a PGDE course in Secondary Education at the University of Edinburgh to become a teacher of Modern Foreign Languages (French and German). My training so far has enabled me to develop and hone my approaches to efficient and successful delivery of teaching and learning.

Since taking up a permanent position as a teacher of Modern Foreign Languages in secondary school, I have been allowed many opportunities to tailor my teaching to suit the needs and abilities of all learners.

Tutoring Approach

My approach to tutoring is based on a friendly yet professional setting. I enjoy working with languages and very much enjoy sharing the experience and knowledge I have acquired in this field with other people. Whether you are studying languages at school or university or just want to learn a new language/develop your skills, I believe that all of my experience and skills would be greatly beneficial to any language learners.

My approach to tutoring also includes learning about different cultures and every-day use of these languages in the countries where they are spoken. For those who would like a more intense, in-depth approach to language, I can also provide tutoring for aspects of the language and how it works, such as grammar, sentence structure, verb conjugation and so on.

Ultimately, my style of tutoring is tailored to suit your needs!

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, German, Spanish
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Heriot-Watt University2011MastersInterpreting and Translating in French and German, MA (Hons)
Cumnock Academy2007SchoolHigher Grades
University of Edinburgh2015OtherPGDE Secondary
Steven
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
French
Primary£28
Secondary£32
GCSE£32
A-Level£32
University£35
Casual Learner£35
German
Primary£28
Secondary£32
GCSE£32
A-Level£32
University£35
Casual Learner£35
Spanish
Primary£28
Secondary£32
GCSE£32
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£28
Secondary£32
GCSE£32
A-Level£32
University£35
Casual Learner£35