Skip to main content

Information About Stephen - Tower Hamlets tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Stephen's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Stephen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Stephen offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

French

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
University £26.00
Casual Learner £25.00

German

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
University £26.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Secondary £23.00
GCSE £23.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Stephen (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I studied French and German at degree level at London University. I lived and worked in Germany before I applied to University.Later on I lived and worked in France teaching English in Paris, in a lycee ( high school) for one year… I won a scholarship while at London University which entitled me to study at the Goethe University in Frankfurt. After graduating I worked in the south of France and on the Italian riviera. I have never lost contact with these two languages and continued to visit both countries throughout my teaching career. I never tire of these languages and have found them both at different times to be essential, useful, advantageous and, of course, great assets for wider communication with people and access to other cultures. As an experienced world traveller to more than 50 countries, I have found languages to be indispensable at times.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 18 years teaching experience in schools in UK and in France. I trained at Goldsmiths', London where I completed a post-graduate certificate of education. My B.A (with honours) is in French and German. I taught in Tower Hamlets where I held position of second in charge of modern foreign languages. I retained this position for 10 years after which I sought promotion in the borough of Enfield as head of languages. I have also taught in the boroughs of Redbridge and Greenwich.

Tutoring Approach:

Although I was trained in Communicative Methodology, I realise that this approach may not suit everyone. Usually, with individual students, I encourage them to tell me what areas they want to work on and from there, I am able to pinpoint other areas which need developing. I am a keen grammarian but know well that many people do not like this approach to language learning. I like it when students actively participate in their learning and tell me what they want to know or understand better. Learning is a complicated process and I do not believe there is a 'one size fits all' method.

Qualifications:

  • London University (Goldsmiths') (1988) - Post Graduate Certificate of Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • London University (Queen Mary, London University) (1983) - BA. Combined honours degree in Fr and Ger (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Tower Hamlets French tutor, Tower Hamlets German tutor, Tower Hamlets Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tower Hamlets Secondary French tutor, Tower Hamlets GCSE French tutor, Tower Hamlets A-Level French tutor, Tower Hamlets University French tutor, Tower Hamlets Casual Learner French tutor, Tower Hamlets Secondary German tutor, Tower Hamlets GCSE German tutor, Tower Hamlets A-Level German tutor, Tower Hamlets University German tutor, Tower Hamlets Casual Learner German tutor, Tower Hamlets Secondary Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets GCSE Spanish tutor, Tower Hamlets A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tower Hamlets University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Tower Hamlets Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor