Stephen

Trowbridge Tutor

I am 53 and married. I have 3 daughters, all now in their twenties. I am a keen artist and musician and at present run an Art Club and Ukulele Club in the school at which I work. I am also in a band (composed mainly of teachers) and we play quite regularly at small festivals, pubs, birthday parties and other events. I also help out at a youth group for junior aged children on a Friday night. Other enjoyments are my cat, reading, gardening, walking and making model aircraft.

Tutoring Experience

I am a teacher with a first class honours degree, obtained after studying for a 4 year Bachelor of Education qualification. I have taught primary school children for the past 23 years in state schools, mainly at Key Stage 2 (7-11). I've taught in a wide range of schools, including Catholic, Church of England and County Primary schools and in a wide variety of areas, from village schools to schools in large towns and cities. I am an 'Upper Pay Scale' teacher, so have had to go through a rigorous process of evaluation to prove how I have developed as an educator and how I have brought added benefits to the schools in which I have worked. My length of time in primary education has enabled me to develop and refine a wide range of teaching skills and approaches and also a good knowledge of the curriculum. It has also enabled me to work with a wide variety of children from different backgrounds and with differing needs.

Tutoring Approach

I am an enthusiastic teacher and seek to make my tutoring as fun and engaging as possible. With my long teaching experience I am able to identify where a child is in their learning and the steps they need to take to improve. I like to identify a child's interests and use these to support their learning. I am a keen artist and find that art can often be a good link and starting point for work, particularly in English. I find that praise and a positive approach go a long way when working with a child, particularly if they are going through a stage where they lack confidence or self esteem. I find it easy to relate to children and form positive working relationships with them and I believe this helps me, as an educator, to get the best out of them.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of South Wales1995BachelorsBachelor of Education (Hons) first class
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£25
English
Primary£25