Skip to main content

Information About Stephanie - Blandford Forum tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Stephanie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Geography

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Stephanie

Personal Description:

Born and brought up in Central Africa, I have always had this desire to learn more about the world in which we live, and why it is that way. There is a deep sense of wanderlust in me that I have satisfied in recent years with numerous trips to Iceland Morocco, Rhodes, Sicily, New York and Berlin. A self-confessed Geography nerd, I love to see how my subject works (or not, as is most of the case!) in reality, even when on holiday, and am constantly looking to expand my collection of countries visited!

Back at home, I live with my equally environmentally-nerdy boyfriend, and my food-obsessed pony, who is apparently semi-retired but objects to being associated with that term! I am scouting Ireland at the moment for my next horse with the ambition of competing at British Eventing in the next few years. When time allows in the holidays, I help out for a couple of successful local eventers at competitions across the south to gain experience and maintain knowledge in order to best support myself for when I eventually get into eventing.

Academically, I graduated from Bournemouth University after studying Applied Geography (BSc). I took a few years out in the world of work before embarking on my PGCE (MEd) at Southampton University.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught in the private sector in north Dorset since 2008, and have enjoyed this vocation more than any other I have done! I mostly teach GCSE and A Level Geography, but continue to have experience of teaching core skills through KS3. My subject specialty is physical geography, specifically ecosystems, tectonics and coastal landscapes. I have daily experience of teaching students with SEN, such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, ADHD, and slow working memory, and have a good array of teaching strategies to draw upon should they be needed.

I have been organising and running local and foreign fieldwork since 2010. This has given me the opportunity to develop an intimate understanding of how a location can be used as a case study for taught content, GCSE fieldwork to be assessed from the 2018 examinations, and for the new demands of A Level coursework (NEA). I am familiar with the requirements of each spec at GCSE and A Level, and the extent of support I am allowed to give with the NEA.

I have four years’ experience of teaching the necessary skills, mentoring and marking the AQA EPQ (Extended Project Qualification). It is something I have thoroughly enjoyed alongside my usual teaching, and provides an excellent bridge between A Level and university for many students. This is something I would be confident in tutoring alongside other facets of Geography.

I have five years’ experience as a sixth form tutor, and am therefore confident working through the UCAS application and personal statement writing. Again, this is something I would be willing to help with if the situation called for it.

As part of my teaching role at school, I also teach core ICT and can incorporate these skills into my tutoring. These include Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint, building websites through Wix and WordPress, and Google Classroom, Calendar, Docs and Sheets.

I am an A Level examiner for Edexcel, and have recently started writing articles for the GCSE magazine Wideworld. Discover Ltd have invited me to be part of their debut at the 2018 Geographical Association Conference at Sheffield Hallam University to promote Morocco as an excellent location choice for fieldwork.

I am a member of the Geographical Association and the Royal Geographical Society, and am currently building my portfolio for Chartered Geographer (Teacher) status with the Royal Geographical Society.

I would like to complete my Masters of Education in time, but have not yet found a course that I feel fully connected with. It is, however, in the pipeline.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe that 1:1 tutoring must support the individual student needs in an academic and emotional manner, with trust and mutual respect swinging both ways. I feel it is important to create an environment whereby your son/daughter grows in confidence with me, and subsequently with the material.

It is essential that each student is seen as an individual with their own specific way of learning. I will tailor sessions to these, including support for any SEN, in order to maximise their learning potential. With this, the work will be within their ability range with stretch and support opportunities provided throughout the lessons. Realistic and achievable goals will be set at the beginning of each lesson, with an established longer term goal to be aimed for.

Wherever I can, I use emotional intelligence to make connections between the theories of what is being taught with real life situations; if they are relevant to the student, they are more likely to enjoy, and therefore remember, the material. Your son/daughter will be encouraged to contribute verbally and to engage in dynamic discussions on the material, without fear to explore outside of the box if the opportunity allows.

Constructive feedback will be regularly given in a supportive manner that will allow your son/daughter to develop in confidence with their understanding. They will be allowed to make mistakes along the way, and encouraged to find ways to successfully navigate around and learn from them. Where appropriate, a deeper level of thinking and stretching will be used to develop analytical and evaluative understanding and application.

In terms of homework, this will be looked at on an individual basis. It may not be appropriate since there may not be the time (or inclination) of your son/daughter to do additional quality work on top of what they are already expected to for school.

Essentially, I will work on whatever needs attention, be it understanding concepts and theories, generating case studies, making revision notes, or improving exam technique in preparation for the external exams. This also covers support with work currently being studied within the subject, improving work that has already been covered, and preparing for what is coming up next. Ultimately, my aim is for your son/daughter to have progressed during the lesson, and to have had fun with it!

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Southampton University (2008) - PGCE (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Bournemouth University (2003) - Applied Geography (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Blandford Forum Geography tutor, Blandford Forum Primary Geography tutor, Blandford Forum Secondary Geography tutor, Blandford Forum GCSE Geography tutor, Blandford Forum A-Level Geography tutor