Information About Stephanie - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Stephanie's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Stephanie:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Stephanie (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am a young professional, currently working as a freelance translator, with a great passion for languages. I have studied French and German to degree level and continued my studies to MSc level in Intercultural Business with Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TESOL). As a very sociable person I have always enjoyed teaching and helping others, however as I work from home now I would very much like to get back into teaching and my original passion of using languages to foster better communication.

Tutoring Experience:

During final year of high school tutored standard grade German and Higher English on a one-to-one basis.
Final year of undergraduate degree undertook tandem lesson with native German speaker.
Postgraduate degree involved weekly practical teaching opportunity for teaching English.
Throughout postgraduate degree also tutored Spanish student for academic English, this involved grammar lessons as well as techniques such as referencing and academic writing.
Tutored two Spanish students over a three month period to prepare them for the IELTS exam.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to teaching, having studied languages extensively myself, is a dynamic one. For English as a foreign language I feel that conversation, supplemented with grammar where necessary, makes for an enjoyable lesson whilst targeting problem areas such as prepositions or topical subjects. For German, depending on the level, I feel that a combination of written exercises together with speaking and listening help to cover all bases for the academic year. Having said this if there is a specific approach you wish me to use, then I am more than willing to adapt my methods to suit each individual student.


  • Edinburgh Napier University (2013) - MSc Intercultural Business Communication with TESOL (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Heriot Watt University (2012) - MA(hons) Applied Languages and Translation (French and German) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh German tutor, Edinburgh English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh Primary German tutor, Edinburgh Secondary German tutor, Edinburgh GCSE German tutor, Edinburgh A-Level German tutor, Edinburgh University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor