Skip to main content

Information About Soazic - Glasgow tutor

Profile Picture

Soazic's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Soazic:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Soazic (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I'm a motivated and enthusiastic French native speaker having four years of teaching experience with children, teenagers, students and adults and happy to work with people from various backgrounds. I'm willing to offer any help at all levels in French or Spanish to improve your language, conversational skills or to prepare you for exams.

I lived in Madrid during one year and I have been living in Glasgow for four years.
I like discovering new countries and new cultures. During my free time I take Dance classes and used to play the piano and learn Afro-Cuban drums. I am crazy about music and enjoy listening different styles of music. I also took Drama classes to improve my communication and presentation skills including improvisation.
I’m a hard-working, conscientious, reliable and trustworthy person who likes pushing students at the top of their capacities.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught and tutored French and Spanish to pupils aged 11-17 in secondary schools during my teaching placements working on listening, speaking, reading and writing skills following the Curriculum for Excellence policy.This enabled me to become familiar with the Modern Languages Curriculum and take responsibility for each of my classes as well as establishing good relationships with pupils and school staff. I am now teaching adults in the French Institute (Edinburgh) working with a post-beginner class (A2) and an advanced class (B2).

I was also French Language Assistant in Spain and in Glasgow. I therefore tutored and help pupils to develop their speaking skills and prepare them for exams (Standard Grade, Highers). I’m also fluent in Spanish. I worked with small groups of pupils or on a one to one basis using games, role plays, paired and group work.

I have a strong experience in tutoring languages. Throughout my study in France and in Glasgow, I gave French private tuitions to students from different backgrounds and levels whose reasons for learning French were diverse (improving speaking skills, preparation for examinations, personal interest etc.). Tutoring a fourth year student (French-History) studying all aspects of language as current affairs as well helped him pass successfully his French exams (speaking, reading, writing and translation). I am currently teaching French to a primary level boy and to a 1st Year student (speaking and reading) to help her pass her exams. I am therefore flexible and already familiar with both the primary, secondary and higher education system.

Tutoring Approach:

As a tutor, I always start from the students’needs and interests to be able to motivate and deliver lessons which are interesting and purposeful. It is also important to try to use when possible topics of interests and relevance for the students .Personalisation is therefore vital and enables to get to know the students better.When teaching, I use a variety of authentic and non- authentic material (newspapers, French books, Internet resources, atlas, cultural references, cards’ games) to deal with a variety of topics (personal information, current affairs, French Speaking countries for example). When necessary I adapt these materials to the student depending on the context of learning.
Tutoring also allows me to follow my students’progress and build a strong relationship with them. This is not always possible within a classroom setting. It is also very rewarding to learn that students passed their exams and that they still want to follow through their language learning.

Qualifications:

  • University of Glasgow (2012) - ICT Certificate (Word, Excel, Powerpoint) (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Université Paris X Nanterre la Défense (France) (2010) - Master of French as a French Language (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Institut Catholique de Paris (2007) - English/Spanish Dual Degree (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Jacques Feyder (High School) France (2004) - Baccalaureate (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: French
Additional Languages: English (British), Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Glasgow French tutor, Glasgow Spanish tutor, Glasgow Primary French tutor, Glasgow Secondary French tutor, Glasgow GCSE French tutor, Glasgow A-Level French tutor, Glasgow University French tutor, Glasgow Casual Learner French tutor, Glasgow Primary Spanish tutor, Glasgow Secondary Spanish tutor, Glasgow GCSE Spanish tutor, Glasgow A-Level Spanish tutor, Glasgow University Spanish tutor, Glasgow Casual Learner Spanish tutor