Skip to main content

Information About Sirvart - Acton tutor -

Profile Picture

Sirvart's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sirvart:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Sirvart offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00

Map Location

Map for Sirvart

Personal Description:

I am a friendly and enthusiastic individual with a passion for teaching a wide variety of subjects ranging from academia to music and sports. I enjoy building relationships and developing new teaching methods in order to enable students to learn effectively, as some will absorb information better in different contexts.

Since completing my A levels, I have worked and travelled in mainly Europe, North America and the Middle East. In my spare time I compete in women's rugby, play piano, visit family and volunteer for local organisations such as City Farm and Shelter.

I have recently moved to London after teaching English abroad for 3 months and am now looking to continue providing lessons in English and Maths whilst volunteering to coach for local junior rugby teams.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been providing GCSE Maths tuitions for a foundation level student in the last academic year of 2017-2018. My student passed and was therefore able to get in to her sixth form as initially hoped. I have also been teaching English as a second language abroad in Italy and Spain to classes as big as 20, aged 13-18 between May and August of this year.

Whilst studying my A-levels (2012-2014) I regularly attended Maths club to provide assistance to GCSE students. I learnt how to quickly identify and work on the students weaknesses by breaking down complex ideas and going through them step by step so that the pupil felt more confident when tackling the same problem again.

During the summer of 2016 I worked as a coach for Kings Camps where I was responsible for 30 children, ages 6 to 14. My main responsibilities were to help develop their sport and academic skills by creating and delivering curriculum. In recognition of my contribution I was awarded, 'Top Performing Member of the Year' certificate. This experience was beneficial as it gave me some insight on how to work with children positively and keep them motivated to learn.

My experience in teaching children also extends to rugby coaching and piano teaching.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to create a relaxed and friendly environment. I would make sure the student is confident with current and previous class material before looking ahead of what the class has covered as maths generally builds on itself. It also makes tracking progress easier.

At the start of each lesson I would have a short discussion with the student to understand where they are struggling whilst having a look at their exercise book to identify any other weaknesses.

If there is a problem with understanding the material, I would find a way to explain that makes sense to the student and then encourage them to start tackling some basic questions until they are confident. I then follow this up with some harder questions to challenge their problem solving skills. The aim is to understand how they can utilise what they know to find the solution of questions which may seem unfamiliar.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Armenian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Maiden Erlegh (2015) - Maths A level (Grade A*) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Maiden Erlegh (2015) - Chemistry A level (Grade A) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Maiden Erlegh (2015) - Biology A level (Grade A) (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Acton Maths tutor, Acton English tutor, Acton Primary Maths tutor, Acton Secondary Maths tutor, Acton GCSE Maths tutor, Acton Primary English tutor, Acton Secondary English tutor