Information About Simon - Newham tutor -
(10 reviews)

Profile Picture

Simon's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Simon:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
Casual Learner £35.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00

Map Location

Map for Simon (Mr)


Personal Description:

A young graduate with a quirky outlook on life, I try and avoid the assumptions which hold people back. As a Cambridge grad I appreciate the importance of opportunities for excellence; however, much of my tutoring experience has been with those struggling to build confidence, which is always a rewarding challenge.
I'm happy to travel to teach at a student's home, but I also find tutoring in convenient public locations (such as cafes/libraries) effective for older students. *I charge a callout fee of £10 during peak hours, i.e. after 16:00 weekdays or any time weekends*. I do not have a current CRB check as I no longer work in a sector where they are demanded, but I had one done in 2003. If this is a concern, I am happy to have a background check done on request.

Tutoring Experience:

I have experience of classroom teaching, tutoring, training in a commercial environment, and educational performance and demonstration, including several schools, H J Heinz, Coca-Cola Enterprises, private tutoring in London, Bristol and Cambridge, and demonstrating in the CHaOS/CBS interactive science show. I've been involved in educating various students in various ways since I was fifteen. Out of all of these, I have found personal tutoring to be the most rewarding in terms of learning and enjoyment, for both teacher and student. On top of the usual A-level and GCSE candidates, current and recent clients include some STEP candidates, a PhD student wanting to get to grips with more mathematical aspects of his field, a professional wanting to approach GMAT, and a couple of authors who wanted help with the physics in their books (one fiction, one non-fiction)

Tutoring Approach:

I've never seen someone learn something without enjoying the experience, even if it was tough getting there. I believe that gaining a deep and intuitive grasp of the fundamentals makes success easier and more enjoyable, and that by empowering students to make their own knowledge - and mistakes - they can gain understanding which lasts. While I have learned numerous pedagogical techniques, I still believe that the best type of teaching is the one that fits the learner; it's a cliche for a reason. While I try to play down the emphasis on exam results - it can interfere with learning and for some students is quite intimidating - I have a good record in this department; for instance, all of my students from last year achieved As and A*s in all the subjects I tutored them in at A level and GCSE.


  • Bristol University (2008) - MSc Machine Learning and Data Mining, Bristol (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Cambridge (2003) - BA Hons & MA Natural Sciences (Physics), Cambridge (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Newham Maths tutor, Newham Physics tutor, Newham Secondary Maths tutor, Newham GCSE Maths tutor, Newham A-Level Maths tutor, Newham Casual Learner Maths tutor, Newham Secondary Physics tutor, Newham GCSE Physics tutor, Newham A-Level Physics tutor