Information About Simon - Thornton-cleveleys tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Simon's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Simon:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £17.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Simon (Mr)


Personal Description:

I have 3 years experience of private tuition and 4 years experience of classroom teaching.
In addition to private maths tuition, I teach maths at various local high schools as a supply teacher.
I have a Maths Post Graduate Certificate in Education from Lancaster University (2 year course).
I also have a degree in Electronic engineering from the University of Liverpool - I worked as
an electronics design engineer before becoming a teacher.
I am 51 years old and married.

Tutoring Experience:

Private tuition:
I have taught students whose ages range from 8 (year 4) to 16 (year 11) and whose abilities and confidence levels vary across a wide range.
I have helped several Year 11 students succeed in their GCSE maths exams, giving results that improved on predictions by 1 or 2 grades in several cases.
I have also helped a Year 6 student succeed in Year 6 SATs maths exams and Year 7 initial assessment, enabling her to gain entry into a high ability maths class at high school.
Classroom teaching:
I have taught maths to classes of varying sizes and abilities at 15 different local high schools.

Tutoring Approach:

My general approach is to build a student's confidence with maths and to assess ability in every topic
(e.g. algebra or geometry), then focus on topics where help is needed.
Classroom experience enables me to advise students and parents on how to gain the maximum benefit from
time spent in maths lessons at school.
Each tuition session can include help on current schoolwork if necessary.
I teach exam technique to maximise grades in GCSEs and SAT tests which can include working through past papers,
assessing student knowledge of each question and teaching background knowledge on the relevant topic if required.


  • St. Martin's College, Lancaster (2006) - 2 year high school maths (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Liverpool (1986) - Electronic Engineering (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Thornton-cleveleys Maths tutor, Thornton-cleveleys Primary Maths tutor, Thornton-cleveleys Secondary Maths tutor, Thornton-cleveleys GCSE Maths tutor