Skip to main content

Information About Simon - Bath tutor

Profile Picture

Simon's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Simon:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Biology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Simon

Personal Description:

Hello! I’ve just graduated from the University of Bath with a degree in Biology and am now back for another year to study my Masters in Business Management. I have been through GCSE and A-Level in all sciences and maths myself, and remember going through the exam process and how stressful it can be. I am punctual, reliable, and take pride in my student`s success and inspiring other young people to go into science (which does not necessarily mean in the lab!).

Throughout my degree, I gained experience in peer mentoring and discovered I love teaching and helping others achieve. Studying a scientific degree has also developed a clear, logical way of thinking and a practical approach to problem solving. I firmly believe, particularly with science, that the subject is accessible to everyone, and often the biggest hurdle is how to answer exam questions effectively.

My 4 year course contained a year in industry, during which I worked at MSD, a top 10 global pharmaceutical company, in various marketing and strategic roles. I ran the recruitment process in 3 departments for the next wave of students, having to filter CV`s, analyse online tests, conduct telephone interviews, set up and run assesment centres. This experience has truly given me the skills in knowing what employers look for in new employees, and I would be happy to help students with their CV`s, cover letters and interview preparations.

Im currently abroad in South East Asia travelling, but will be back in Bath from the 2nd of October.
I look forward to hearing from you!

Tutoring Experience:

Though I have no direct experience with tutoring, I peer mentored some of the younger children at my school acting as a helping hand to provide support, encouragement, and information, as well as at a higher level at University.

I studied Maths Physics Biology and Chemistry at GCSE and AS, taking Maths Biology and Chemistry to A-level in 2013. I achieved A`s or higher in all subjects.

I have a coaching qualification in squash and have taugh children of all ages from 8 - 13 how to play the sport in fun and engaging lessons. At university I have continued coaching the new beginner members of the club transfering this skill to suit older students.

Tutoring Approach:

I offer a relaxed, friendly environment for students at GCSE and A-Level, and will dedicate as much time as possible to improving upon any areas of weakness, work to their specific exam board, create personalised lessons, exam practice and spend time going over anything learned in lessons that needs clarification.

I will be willing to offer any advice on applications to Universities for students applying for Biological Sciences in particular as part of lessons, and will happily develop personal statements etc. with students also. I am able to come to your home for tutoring, meet in a mutual place, and am open to discussion for group sessions if a small group of friends (no more than 4) like to study together.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The University of Bath (2017) - 2:1 Biology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Bryanston School (2013) - A Biology A Level (School) (✔ On File)
  • Bryanston School (2013) - A Chemistry A Level (School) (✔ On File)
  • Bryanston School (2013) - A Maths A Level (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Bath Biology tutor, Bath GCSE Biology tutor, Bath A-Level Biology tutor