Information About Simon - Haverhill tutor -
(15 reviews)


This is how 2 referees rated Simon:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Simon (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a qualified, experienced English Teacher and am very passionate and enthusiastic about my subject. I enjoy the classroom environment, but am particularly interested in 1-to-1 tuition as it allows more time and focus on individual pupils. Seeing that ‘light-bulb moment’ – when you can see that a topic is understood and a concept has been grasped – has always been very rewarding for me. I have been described by colleagues as committed, patient, empathetic, reliable and particularly well suited to personal tuition.

My First Class Honours degree in Literature enables me to go into great detail about particular topics relevant to GCSE students, but I am also very experienced with working with Key Stage 2 & 3 pupils and my flexibility, patience and understanding enables all pupils to succeed.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught a range of ages and abilities in both Middle and Secondary Schools and have experience as both Form Tutor and English Teacher. The schools I have taught at have enabled me to experience teaching not only Gifted and Talented pupils, but also those pupils with Special Educational Needs (SEN) and those learning English as an Additional Language (EAL). I am also sensitive to the needs and requirements of pupils on the Autistic Spectrum and those with Asperger’s Syndrome. I have successfully taught Key Stage 3, GCSE (with experience of both AQA and WJEC syllabuses), Functional Skills and Entry Level students. As an English teacher, I have run numerous extra-curricular English classes, as well as the Acceler8 and Rapid Reading schemes. I have also had experience of being a Teaching Assistant and this has given me great experience of working 1-to-1 with pupils. I have always got on well with students and try to make my lessons fun and interesting. I am also up to date with current educational issues, including the recent change in the AQA syllabus. I also have a recent CRB check and am registered with the General Teaching Council (GTC). References are available upon request.

Tutoring Approach:

I am very enthusiastic and passionate about teaching. I believe in the concept of life-long learning and so like to provide a basis where pupils can understand and identify exactly what they need to do to improve and then enable them to do so. This helps pupils not only now, but also for the rest of their working lives. I believe in tailoring lessons for individual pupils, as no two pupils are the same. I have good communication and I.T. skills and ensure that my lessons are relevant to the interests of particular pupils – for example I have used The Simpsons to teach the ideas of social commentary and irony – but I am always sensitive to the demands of the examining boards. My lessons cater for all learning styles, whether Kinesthetic, Visual or Aural and involve techniques such as language games, interactive quizzes, reading and writing comprehensions, essay writing skills, as well as the use of past papers.


  • Graduate Teacher Programme (2010) - Qualified Teacher Status (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (2006) - 1:1 BA Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Castle Manor School Haverhill (1992) - 9 GCSEs (Grades A-C) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Haverhill Maths tutor, Haverhill English tutor, Haverhill Primary Maths tutor, Haverhill Secondary Maths tutor, Haverhill GCSE Maths tutor, Haverhill Casual Learner Maths tutor, Haverhill Primary English tutor, Haverhill Secondary English tutor, Haverhill GCSE English tutor, Haverhill Casual Learner English tutor