Information About Sidney - Barnsbury tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Sidney's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Sidney:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £35.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Sidney (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am 22 years old and recently moved to London, attracted by the opportunities the capital has to offer. I spent my earlier years in Aberdeen, Newcastle and then Cambridge, something of a tour of the UK!

I graduated in 2015 with a 1st in Natural Sciences (specialising in Physics), from the University of Cambridge. Since October 2015 I have been studying for a Physics Phd at Imperial College, working on molecular cooling experiments. So it's safe to say that I am passionate about Physics! That said, I have a broader understanding of the physical sciences (having studied Chemistry and Materials Science alongside Physics in my first year), and my work demands facility with Mathematics.

Outside academic work, my main interest is drums and percussion; I played drum kit in the Cambridge University Jazz Orchestra and at numerous and events whilst at university.

Tutoring Experience:

Currently I am working with the "Generating Genius" program operating across London, which aims to help secondary school students from disadvantaged backgrounds achieve their potential. This has involved both single and group teaching, ensuring high achievers are stretched sufficiently.

I helped to set up and run "help workshops" for students in the years below me while studying at Cambridge, to assist them with supervision work and course difficulties. To my pleasant surprise I really enjoyed this, and it helped me develop tools and methods of teaching.

For the past four years I have been teaching drum kit at a drum school in South Shields, Newcastle upon Tyne. I've taught all abilities and ages (from 8 to 66) and the school has really helped to bring the community together. We put on drum shows twice a year so students can showcase their skills to friends and family.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is dictated by the individual needs of the student; I will normally work on specific areas where the student is having difficulties, as well as those which I think are more involved. This helps to avoid situations where a student is unaware of their own misunderstanding, which can often go unnoticed in the classroom.

Although I received a good education at school, it became clear whilst at university that my understanding of subject areas depended strongly on the teachers I'd had before, regardless of exam results. Therefore I will try to deepen the student's understanding, which is beneficial for both exams and future studies. One aspect of this relies on simplifying problems as effectively as possible - for example, I follow the mantra of my former supervisor that there are only two important minus signs in Physics.


  • Imperial College London (2018) - Physics Phd - Ultracold Physics (Doctorate) (in progress)
  • University of Cambridge (2015) - MSci in Natural Sciences - Physics (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Barnsbury Maths tutor, Barnsbury Physics tutor, Barnsbury Chemistry tutor, Barnsbury Secondary Maths tutor, Barnsbury GCSE Maths tutor, Barnsbury A-Level Maths tutor, Barnsbury GCSE Physics tutor, Barnsbury A-Level Physics tutor, Barnsbury University Physics tutor, Barnsbury GCSE Chemistry tutor, Barnsbury A-Level Chemistry tutor