Skip to main content

Information About Shyron - Exeter tutor -

Profile Picture

Shyron's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Shyron:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Shyron offers a discount of 75% on their first / introductory lesson!

Geography

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I love both teaching and learning, and find tutoring extremely rewarding. I prefer to tutor online, but can visit students in their own homes if they live in central Exeter if their home is within reasonable cycling distance from my home, or accessible by public transport. Having moved from London I do not drive. Once I have met you (either online or in person) I am also happy to offer lessons in my accommodation. I live in a shared house, but my room is of a good size and contains desk, chairs and resources. Please note I require payment upfront (24 hours prior to the lesson) before the lesson will go ahead. I have a 24 hour cancellation policy. I very much look forward to working with you.

Tutoring Experience:

I find Tutoring very rewarding, and previously trained as a Middle Years Teacher (KS2-KS3), covering all subjects of the National Curriculum. I can therefore teach a variety of subjects, but particularly enjoyed teaching humanities (Geography and History).

Over the last year I also volunteered as a TESOL (Teaching English as a Second Language) Tutor for Refugee Support Devon.

I love learning myself and have recently started studying again, this time with the Open University. The course I am studying is a part-time degree course in Environmental Management & Technology which I am thoroughly enjoying.

Seeking other ways to use my teaching skills, I also trained as an Occupational Therapist, working primarily with adults with learning disabilities, enabling them to learn life skills such as preparing meals, doing the laundry or using public transport confidently and safely. Another form of Teaching, I also found this work extremely rewarding.

Tutoring Approach:

I am very adaptable, person-centred and take a holistic approach. I can explain and teach using a variety of approaches to suit the student. I am very used to adapting learning materials to make information more clearly understandable. I am able to quickly build rapport with students. I have a professional, but friendly and supportive style. I am enthusiastic about teaching and learning, which helps!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of East Anglia (2007) - Occupational Therapy (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Bath Spa University College (2001) - Middle Years Teaching (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • York University (1999) - Community Music (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Winchester University (1997) - Music and Dance (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Exeter Geography tutor, Exeter Primary Geography tutor, Exeter Secondary Geography tutor, Exeter GCSE Geography tutor, Exeter Casual Learner Geography tutor