Skip to main content

Information About Shivonne - Hackney tutor

Profile Picture

Shivonne's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Shivonne:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Shivonne offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Sociology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Shivonne (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I love teaching and helping others, and I love working with young people, so I love tutoring! I am an enthusiastic tutor and I care a lot about my students, so will go above and beyond the job description.

I am a PhD student at Queen Mary University studying Sociolinguistics. I have a first class honours degree in English Language and Linguistics from the University of Sheffield, and a Masters degree in Linguistics from North Carolina State University. I also took various Sociology courses during both my BA and MA degrees in addition to the required linguistics courses, and have A grade A-levels in English Language and Sociology.

Tutoring Experience:

As my expertise lie in Sociolinguistics, I have the most experience tutoring English Language and Sociology. I was a peer tutor during my A levels, and I have been teaching Linguistics at undergraduate level since 2012. I also had various tutoring jobs throughout my time at university, including working with student athletes at NC State and adult learners. Most recently, in July 2016, I tutored undergraduate students who were taking summer resit exams. As a result, I have experience teaching general revision and writing skills, as well as exam taking strategies and teaching challenging course content.

Tutoring Approach:

I work at the students pace, but have high standards and expect full effort and commitment from my students as this is what I give to them. I expect students to be prepared at tutoring sessions, with any challenging homework assignments in hand and any useful teacher feedback at the ready. I believe both parties have to be committed to get the most enjoyment and learning out of tutoring sessions, so I like communication to be open and without judgement to allow students to provide feedback and exercise some degree of agency to get what they want out of sessions.

Qualifications:

  • Queen Mary University of London (2017) - Linguistics (Doctorate) (in progress)
  • North Carolina State University (2014) - English Linguistics (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sheffield (2010) - English Language and Linguistics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hackney English tutor, Hackney Sociology tutor, Hackney GCSE English tutor, Hackney A-Level English tutor, Hackney GCSE Sociology tutor, Hackney A-Level Sociology tutor