Skip to main content

Information About Shinobu - Edinburgh tutor -

Profile Picture

Shinobu's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Shinobu:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00

Geography

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00

Map Location

Map for Shinobu

Personal Description:

I am half Japanese and Scottish. Understanding both cultures has given me an open mind and flexibility that I think is key to being an effective tutor. I have frequently travelled between UK, Japan and China providing me with the ability to be culturally sensitive, which I think is a powerful quality to have in this increasingly multi-cultural generation.
I was an academic and music scholar during my time at school at Fettes College and hold a degree in BSc Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience. I am currently pursuing a Masters degree in Counselling and Psychotherapy at the University of Edinburgh. I have always had a passion for maths and science, which I want to kindle in my students.

Tutoring Experience:

- Worked as a part-time tutor **Removed By Admin** **Contact Detail Removed** with children between the ages of 4 and 15.
- Have experience tutoring at Nat 5, GCSE, Higher and A-level abilities - incorporating curriculum knowledge, exam techniques and confidence building.
- Have experience tutoring children around the age of 12-13 (pre-GCSE/Nat 5) to strengthen their foundation of knowledge, grasp exam techniques from an early stage and possibly move through the curriculum faster than the school so they can have an additional layer of consolidation.
- I have taught children around 8-10 years of age as general support with their academic curriculum so as not to lose confidence and ability before entering the harder and more examined academic years.
- I also teach piano to adults and children from the ages of 4 to 21.

Tutoring Approach:

*current availability: Sat afternoon (term time) and flexible Mon-Fri (during holidays)*

Having worked with a large number of students, I have learned how to effectively adapt myself and individualise my teaching style. Aside from teaching my students, I aim to motivate and inspire them, whilst also building their enjoyment and creativity.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Japanese
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Nottingham (2014) - BSc Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience 2:1 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Maths tutor, Edinburgh Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Biology tutor, Edinburgh Geography tutor, Edinburgh English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh Primary Maths tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Maths tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Maths tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Maths tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Chemistry tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Biology tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Biology tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Biology tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Geography tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Geography tutor, Edinburgh Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Edinburgh GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor