Skip to main content

Information About Shelly - Yelverton tutor

Profile Picture

Shelly's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Shelly:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Shelly offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£22.50
Secondary £27.00£24.30
GCSE £27.00£24.30

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£22.50
Secondary £25.00£22.50
GCSE £25.00£22.50

Map Location

Map for Shelly

Personal Description:

I am a creative and enthusiastic individual with a real love for learning. I am passionate about Maths, Science and art and often incorporate all three. I have three children, one of which still lives at home, and the other two now live in my home country in Canada. I moved to the UK in 1993 and love the country so much that I haven't had the urge to return. I enjoy drawing, painting and photography as well as walking my dog across the moors. Favourite places include Bovey Sands, Kingsands and Cawsands as well as regular visits to National Trust places, where I enjoy soaking up as much knowledge about British history as possible!

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching in mainstream primary for more than ten years now, and I have enjoyed every part of it. My most recent post involved a one year maternity cover which included the role of Maths Leader. I have been particularly effective at raising the attainment and progress levels of the children I teach, with excellent results by using intervention and boosters that are teacher led and focused on the needs of the individual child. I also have a high level of Mathematical understanding, with experience beyond A-level. I began tutoring with my own daughter, as well as some of her friends, in Maths and Physics with good results. My work with First Tutors has included varied age ranges. Although, most of my teaching experience is within primary, I have a high level of mathematical knowledge and am working to complete a Secondary Level Subject Knowledge Enhancement course through the University of Plymouth in order to boost my own maths abilities and to keep me up to date with current expectations. I have already complete a cross phase SKE with the university but enjoyed the challenge so much I signed up for the next level! I believe my overall experience has made my approach to tutoring much more comprehensive as I am very clear on the expectations required to pass exams or achieve expected attainment rates at a range of levels, from primary through to secondary, and I understand what is expected within the classroom.

Tutoring Approach:

An initial assessment will be carried out along with an informal chat with the pupil about their feelings towards the school, and the subject he/she may be struggling with. I also welcome the opportunity to contact the pupil's current Maths teacher to gain a more rounded understanding of the pupil's ability. We will then work together to identify misunderstandings, misconceptions and gaps in the pupils' learning so that we can address these in a target based, planned program which will allow the student to see their progress. This is usually a great motivator as they continue to work and see results from their efforts. I always endeavor to incorporate different learning styles, and as much contextualised learning as possible. Many youngsters are hands-on learners and just need the opportunity to develop a clear picture of what is expected to that they can begin to apply what they know independently. In Maths and English, I use as much visual stimulus as possible to give support for abstract concepts and lots of encouragement and praise. Many times it is only an issue of building confidence!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of St. Mark and St. John (2008) - BEd with QTS (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • ICS correspondence (1998) - NVQ3 in accounting and bookkeeping (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Medicine Hat High School (1988) - Advanced Diploma (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Yelverton Maths tutor, Yelverton English tutor, Yelverton Primary Maths tutor, Yelverton Secondary Maths tutor, Yelverton GCSE Maths tutor, Yelverton Primary English tutor, Yelverton Secondary English tutor, Yelverton GCSE English tutor