Information About Sheelagh - Sheffield tutor


Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £28.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00

Map Location

Map for Sheelagh (Mrs)


Personal Description:

Hello. I am 49 years old, married with two teenage children and two very friendly dogs. I love studying and I am in the process of working towards a second degree. I work part-time now to accommodate this. I enjoy running, dog-walking and cinema. I have always been passionate about language learning and I have always striven to bring languages to life in the classroom through songs and games as well as a strong emphasis on confidence building particularly in speaking.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a teacher for 23 years. I have experience of teaching Languages up to 'A' Level. I was a Head of Department for 12 years until I went part-time two years ago. I have successfully taught French to GCSE level and German to Key Stage 3. I am currently tutoring French GCSE for students enrolled in the English Baccalaureat.

Tutoring Approach:

I provide my tutees with an understanding of language so that they can apply their knowledge of it in different settings. I introduce grammar as patterns of language and place emphasis on speaking since this is the skill that many students find the most challenging. I use a variety of resources to practise Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing Skills.I prepare students for coursework through speaking practice first and so this caters also for the Speaking Test.


  • University of Leeds (2007) - NPQH (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sheffield (1985) - French and German (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sheffield (1984) - BA Hons French Language and Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School (1980) - German 'A' Level (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Sheffield French tutor, Sheffield German tutor, Sheffield Primary French tutor, Sheffield Secondary French tutor, Sheffield GCSE French tutor, Sheffield Primary German tutor, Sheffield Secondary German tutor