Information About Shaun - Ashbourne tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Shaun's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Shaun:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00

PE / Sport Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Shaun (Mr)


Personal Description:

I've always enjoyed working with youngsters. From 15 I started to coach local children football and taught younger children at army cadets. I am passionate about learning as well as teaching and i'm a firm believer in the importance of travel to broaden the mind. I pride myself on talking to children "on a level" so they feel comfortable, valued and not patronized.

Tutoring Experience:

I have worked within schools for over four years as a Teaching Assistant. The first three years were spent at an SEN school specialising in Autism. During my time at this school I worked with children aged between 7 and 19, in a wide range of subjects.

My most recent school was a mainstream primary school. I worked throughout the school in all lessons working with groups, whole classes and one to one. My main pupil at the school had learning difficulties and I confidently worked with him in order to significantly improve his academic ability.

In both settings I was frequently asked, as a competent TA, to teach lessons when teachers were absent.

I am currently undertaking my Bachelor of Education degree at Derby University in order to become a fully qualified Primary school teacher.

Tutoring Approach:

Offering close support to a child is a fantastic way of quickly getting good results. I believe this added focus on a child can enhance their academic ability by completing tasks at the child's pace, rather than rushing through without them understanding the work.
Patience and understanding are my two main approaches to tutoring, working hand in hand, they produce great results. I also like to make work fun. As a child, I found school tedious, but as a tutor, TA and trainee teacher, I aim to provide a more fun approach to learning, allowing children to become more motivated and focused on their work.


  • Derby University (2018) - Bachelor of Education (Bachelors) (in progress)
  • Derby University (2015) - Access to Education (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Anthony Gell School (2006) - 2 A Levels (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Anthony Gell School (2004) - 14 GCSE's A-C (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Ashbourne Maths tutor, Ashbourne English tutor, Ashbourne History tutor, Ashbourne Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Ashbourne Special Needs tutor, Ashbourne PE / Sport Science tutor, Ashbourne Primary Maths tutor, Ashbourne Primary English tutor, Ashbourne Primary History tutor, Ashbourne Primary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Ashbourne Primary Special Needs tutor, Ashbourne Secondary Special Needs tutor, Ashbourne Primary PE / Sport Science tutor, Ashbourne Secondary PE / Sport Science tutor, Ashbourne GCSE PE / Sport Science tutor