Skip to main content

Information About Seyed M K - Exeter tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Seyed M K's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Seyed M K:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00£20.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
University £35.00£28.00
Casual Learner £30.00£24.00

Physics

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
University £35.00£28.00
Casual Learner £30.00£24.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00£24.00
GCSE £30.00£24.00
A-Level £35.00£28.00

Map Location

Map for Seyed M K (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a civil and environmental (water) engineer. I finished my PhD in 2014. I have been always passionate about teaching. Since I started my undergraduate study in 2002, I have always taught maths and physics in a secondary school and at an educational institute. During my PhD, I taught in a number of modules (the list of the modules are provided in the section of teaching experience).
Currently I work at the University of Exeter as a research fellow, but I still feel that I should not be very far from teaching and learning environment. I always summarize my professional life in: learning, teaching, maths, physics, water, learning, money, water, money, teaching and learning :)
I believe everyone should always be in a learning/teaching process, and I myself always try to learn from everyone and everything around me, including my students.

Tutoring Experience:

• Teaching assistant and demonstrator in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, University of Surrey (part-time job) (May 2011-July 2014)
o Engineering Mathematics
o Hydraulics & Fluid Mechanics
o Surveying
o Sewerage, Wastewater Treatment, and Waste Management
o Wastewater Treatment and Sewerage (MSc)
o Pollution Control and Waste Management (MSc)
o European Study Tour (MSc)

• Mentoring undergraduate students; Researcher Development Programme (voluntarily) (2013-2014).

• Physics and Mathematics teacher in educational institutes and secondary schools (e.g. Kashef Educational Institute) (part-time job) (2002-2009).

Tutoring Approach:

My teaching approach is different for different subjects, topics, environments and students. However, it is always very important to be patient and flexible with students. To give examples of what I usually do during my sessions, I highlighted a number of points below:
• I allow my students to talk and participate … to ensure the students do not tune out and lose interest in what I am teaching.
• I use frequent pauses to ensure the students have well understood what I have just explained.
• I usually use interesting video presentations and pictures that cover my teaching theme.
• I encourage my students to bring comics or funny quotes to class for our short breaks. It usually helps students to get more engaged…
• Sometimes, I encourage the students (especially small groups) to create website or blog covering the themes covered in tutorial sessions. It is a great way to connect them with other students or intellectuals in one’s chosen field.

Qualifications:

  • University of Surrey (2014) - PhD in Civil and Environmental Engineering (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Surrey (2014) - Graduate certificate of Teaching and Learning (Other) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Persian
Additional Languages: Arabic, English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Exeter Maths tutor, Exeter Physics tutor, Exeter Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Exeter Secondary Maths tutor, Exeter GCSE Maths tutor, Exeter A-Level Maths tutor, Exeter University Maths tutor, Exeter Casual Learner Maths tutor, Exeter GCSE Physics tutor, Exeter A-Level Physics tutor, Exeter University Physics tutor, Exeter Casual Learner Physics tutor, Exeter Secondary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Exeter GCSE Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Exeter A-Level Computer Studies / I.T. tutor