Skip to main content

Information About Selena - Shoreham-by-sea tutor -
(5 reviews)

References

This is how 3 referees rated Selena:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00
University £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £35.00
13 Plus £35.00

Map Location

Map for Selena (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am 45 years old with two grown up sons and a small, noisy, green parrot. I have a wide range of interests including Yoga, Shiatsu, bee-keeping, baking, reading, walking and visiting the theatre. I have recently moved to the South Coast and love living by the sea. My passion for literature is something I communicate to my students whether it be Dickens or Dahl, Wilde or Walliams - I believe there is something for everyone to read and enjoy. It takes a little more time for some students than others but I am always thrilled when I see the light of excitement come on about a book or a story or even a simple rhyme. That's what I love about tutoring - I get to work with all kinds of students at all different stages of development.

Tutoring Experience:

In addition to English teaching in both state and private schools, I have been a Head of Year and pastoral manager for students at KS3 and KS4.
I have worked with students with behaviour and emotional issues and have training and experience of working with students with Asperger's Sydrome.
I have taught and tutored International Baccalaureate students.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a creative and effective English teacher with experience in both private and state sectors. I have had equal success with talented students and with students who experience difficulties (either academically or behaviourally). My approach fosters motivation and enthusiasm in even the most reluctant learner. A relaxed, fun but well structured approach appeals to all age groups and ability levels including those students who are less confident. Most importantly, I love tutoring young people and seeing them develop their confidence and ability over time. I believe every student is capable of achieving more than they think and I support them reach their true potential with patience and enthusiasm. I am CRB checked and I have my own transport.

Qualifications:

  • Royal Holloway (University of London) (2011) - Distinction (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • King's College, London (2003) - English (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Royal Holloway (University of London) (2002) - English (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Shoreham-by-sea English tutor, Shoreham-by-sea Entrance Exams tutor, Shoreham-by-sea Primary English tutor, Shoreham-by-sea Secondary English tutor, Shoreham-by-sea GCSE English tutor, Shoreham-by-sea A-Level English tutor, Shoreham-by-sea University English tutor, Shoreham-by-sea Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Shoreham-by-sea Secondary Entrance Exams tutor