Skip to main content

Information About Sebastian - Derby tutor

Profile Picture

Sebastian's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sebastian:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00

Religious Studies

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Sebastian (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I have an undergraduate degree in Theology and a masters degree in Philosophical Theology. I have a strong passion for Theology and Religious Studies, and Philosophy and Ethics, and I would love to share my knowledge with other students tackling the subject. I am planning to do a Ph.D in Theology/Philosophy and in the meantime and during I hope to help students undertaking their A Levels and GCSEs reach their full potential in Religious Studies/Philosophy and Ethics. I also love English and Literature, which I have studied to a high level at school and also at university, and I am keen to help students in this subject area too. I am a patient and enthusiastic person and sympathetic to the pressure of exams and school generally, and in my tutoring I hope to inspire and build the confidence of my students, and help them to progress and achieve their goals.

Tutoring Experience:

I have had experience mentoring and supervising undergraduate students as a MA student. I have also had significant experience leading seminars and giving presentations. Also I have had placements in schools in Nottingham teaching Religious Studies. I am very familiar with the Religious Studies/ Philosophy and Ethics syllabus and I am confident that I can help students achieve their goals.

Tutoring Approach:

When it comes down to my approach to tutoring I have two key aims: I wish to build confidence and help my tutees achieve their goals and develop as a student of the subject. Naturally I focus a lot on ensuring that the student has a correct and strong understanding of the course material. Still, such material needs to be appropriately applied, and so I will spend a significant amount of time also helping the tutee with general essay writing skills, and ensuring that they know the crucial ways of obtaining high marks. I also believe (especially with exam preparation and coursework in mind) that it is very useful if I can look over pieces of written work, to offer help and guidance. I would hope to keep on top of where the tutee is in their course in order to most effectively plan lessons and get the most of the time tutoring. Fundamentally I wish to always meet the needs and desires of the particular student, whether that be obtaining higher marks, exam preparation, preparing for university, confidence building, or expanding general interest.

Qualifications:

  • University of Nottingham (2015) - Philosophical Theology Distinction (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Nottingham (2014) - Theology and Religious Studies 2:1 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Derby English tutor, Derby Religious Studies tutor, Derby Primary English tutor, Derby Secondary English tutor, Derby GCSE English tutor, Derby A-Level English tutor, Derby GCSE Religious Studies tutor, Derby A-Level Religious Studies tutor, Derby University Religious Studies tutor, Derby Casual Learner Religious Studies tutor